Keeping In Touch

It’s been a year since I met my first Creative Writing Class on Monday, Wednesday evenings at Musselman Middle. Thankfully, they didn’t hold it against me for being a little late–stupid GPS…

I really enjoyed getting to know everyone for those 10 weeks. It was cool when they were excited about the lectures and eager to get my feedback from their short stories. Yesterday, I came across the So You Think You Can Write Volume 1, which was a collection of our favorite class assignments. I even wrote something, so they could get a glimpse of my writing style.

Finding this book made me wonder if anyone pursued querying agents or publishers. Or went into self-publishing, looking for a writing group or writing buddies, etc. I know a couple said they didn’t feel their work was up to par, but I disagree. You can’t become a better writer unless you write. The more you create stories, the faster creative juices will flow.

On our last day, I brought up NaNo to see if anyone would like to meet afterwards. Only Melissa and Robin took the bait. I asked them to please keep in touch (definitely meaning it). I wonder if they assumed I was only being polite because I haven’t heard from anyone…Now, the only person I still keep in contact with is Melissa. I’m happy that we became writing buddies and eventually formed a writing group 🙂

They say you never forget your first. I’ll always remember my first class; they were an entertaining bunch, especially the guys! I wonder if it would be awkward for me to send emails letting them know I’m curious about their writing routines and progress?

In case you’re reading this, I just wanted to say that I miss you! You know who you are, Larry, Lyle, Nettie, Robin, Chuck, Pat, Jan, Jon, and Anne 🙂

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

