Book Review: I Kill Me: Tales of A Jilted Hypochondriac By Tracy H. Tucker

A while ago, I downloaded about six or seven books for my reading challenge. It was around the time I bought A Guilty Mind. Then I received many requests for book reviews through IndieView, so I had to put my reading challenge on hold.

Now, it seems like I’m back on track where I can afford to read for pleasure and business if I want to. I found Tracy’s blog one day by browsing the WordPress writing topics dashboard. The book description sounded funny, so I wanted to give it a try.

I Kill Me: Tales of A Jilted Hypochondriac is book #23 of my reading challenge. Here’s my thoughts:

Christine Bacon has a fatal attraction. To things all fatal. A veteran hypochondriac, her near-death experiences are exacerbated when her husband proposes they have a menage a trois with Eleanor, his busty British massage therapist, to “shake things up.” Christine reluctantly agrees (although she is more wholesome than threesome), never expecting just how much she’d be rattled. As her marriage to Richard, a/k/a “Dick,” falls apart, so, too, does Christine, whose fear of her own demise causes her to research every freckle, blemish, cough, bump, lump, tingle and hiccup. She isn’t a doctor, but she plays one on the internet.

There is solace for Christine: in raising daughters Lily and Carli, leaning on her friends, and wearing out the shower massager. In order to heal, she struggles to become her own person and to view her symptoms (an ex-husband) as less malignant, while searching for that special someone who will love her–despite her grave condition.

15758840I loved this 32 chapter book. It was told through Christine’s first person point-of-view. The opening sentence: “I could think of two big reasons why this threesome wasn’t going to work: her boobs,” piqued my attention right away. That scene was the most awkward thing I’ve ever read (in a good way) LOL. The husband wanted his wife and massage therapist at the same time. He and the massage therapist had already went over all the sensual details, so this was planned well in advance. Eventually, Richard wanted a divorce. All I could keep thinking: he was having happy endings way before he wanted that threesome.

My favorite lines: 1) “Or,” added Hank, “join Facebook like I keep telling you, and then you can search for former classmates you wish you’d had sex with in high school.” 2) “I’m sorry.” Her apology sounded a bit too automatic. 3) “The thing is, you have to allow yourself to make mistakes. Because learning who you’re not can help you figure out who you are.”

The author had a brilliant talent with point-of-view. I felt like I knew who Christine was by her interactions with other characters, how she treated herself, etc. Tracy H. Tucker moved the story forward in a witty and entertaining way through immediate scenes instead of narrative summary.

  • The character’s hypochondriac episodes were funny, especially when it got on her friends’ nerves. That was her coping mechanism, so I could understand her actions. I also enjoyed her self-depreciating humor. Her own mother was a worry wart–I could see where Christine inherited the obsessive thoughts about death. Besides keeping me laughing, there were also some tense moments. I’m all about conflict, and there were plenty of those scenes when Richard would stop by to pick up their daughters.

I hoped that her ex-husband could redeem himself by the end of the novel, but it just wasn’t meant to be. I’m happy that slowly but surely Christine got her life back on track without letting that loser get to her anymore. The sweetest revenge–living a happy life and not giving him a second thought. At times, I thought she’d get together with her male best friend (the teacher). Her kids kept hinting at it, and he kept flirting with her like he had a crush on her all that time and wasn’t afraid to express it since she got a divorce and was available now. She did eventually find a “friend,” which I thought was good for her.

My favorite scenes: 1) Richard comes in the bathroom, uninvited, surprising Christine 2) her first blind date with Steve, her online buddy. he was a weirdo 3) any scene with her mom because she resorted to acting like a scared kid

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

One thought on “Book Review: I Kill Me: Tales of A Jilted Hypochondriac By Tracy H. Tucker

Leave a Reply

