Embracing My Author Identity

I’m on hiatus with One By One until I can afford an editor. Unfortunately, I haven’t found a second job yet (trust me, it’s not for lack of trying), so it’s taking much longer to save up for one. Plus, my lease is up April 1st–I’m looking for a more affordable place, opting to save up for that instead. I need a roof over my head, right :)?

I refuse to be one of those authors who publishes books without hiring an editor/proofreader first. Unless I find someone free or really cheap, I’m at a standstill.

That doesn’t mean I can’t do anything at all. Freelance writing can be my second job–of course, I have realistic goals about payment and publication. Some magazines I researched are non-paying markets, saying exposure should be good enough.

Over the weekend, I submitted three short stories to three online magazines! I compiled a thorough list of markets to submit to, so if I get rejected, then I have other options. Here’s my list so far (if anyone has any others to share, please let me know; my short stories tend to focus on suspense, drama (literary?), mystery):

  • Jersey Devil Press
  • One Story
  • Glimmer Train Press
  • Spinetingler Magazine
  • Suspense Magazine
  • The Write Place At The Write Time
  • Fluent Magazine
  • Every Day Fiction
  • Cemetery Dance
  • Black Bird
  • Literary Juice
  • Pithead Chapel
  • The Shaded Pen
  • Evergreen Review
  • Stirring
  • Fail Better

For 2013, Melissa and I plan to write/edit two short stories each month, plus submit to magazines/journals. Hopefully, I can pique someone’s interest, enough to take a chance on me. If not, Trapped could use company on my blog. I found some markets that will accept stories from blogs, online forums, etc.

Today, I set up a PayPal account (seems like freelance writers’ majority forms of payment are by check or PayPal). Over the weekend, I set up a Short Story Submissions Tracker on Excel. My different sheets are: General Submissions, By Title, By Publications. The categories are: Submission #, Date Submitted, Title, Publication, Response Date, Results. According to experts, it’s a good idea to keep submitting to the same magazines, so editors remember your name. If you get more personalized rejections, then you’re almost ready for publication–you just have to find that right story. Some markets allow multiple and simultaneous submissions. This tracker will keep my bases covered.

Things I’ve learned so far:

  • Don’t refer to an editor by his or her full name. Use Mr. or Ms.
  • Follow submission guidelines to the tee
  • If require cover letter, keep it very brief (don’t embellish)
  • With author bios, keep information that pertains to your writing career (don’t embellish and don’t use first person point-of-view)

On Friday, I had my writing group help me create my author bio. It seems like my blog and book reviews are publishing credits. Cool beans!

Now, it’s nothing but a waiting game. I’ll keep writing while submitting other short stories until I hear a rejection or acceptance. Besides 24 short stories, in 2013, I want to self-publish One By One (also focus on promoting the thriller), edit my 90 day novel, participate in NaNo in November (producing another novel), and create a couple of novellas. Plus, keep up with blogging and maintaining an Author Website and Author Facebook Page.

It’s fun embracing my author identity. It’s like I’m being more productive instead of just setting up shop. When people ask, I don’t shy away from talking about my goals and projects (like I used to do).

How have you transitioned from being a writer to being an author?

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

6 thoughts on “Embracing My Author Identity

  1. Sorry to hear you’re on hiatus with your novel, but I completely agree with your strategy. Best to put out something that’s relatively error free. From reading your magazine sub list, though, you’re bound to find success there! My goal is to write some short stories this year, too.

    • Hey Monica,
      I’m still researching markets. I’ve added at least 10 more to my list so far. Good luck with your short stories too. Will you self-publish them? Or submit to magazines?

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

    • Thanks Paige for the nomination! It can be a post for next week 🙂

      I obsessively check my email and Submittable page LOL and it hasn’t even been a week yet. I’m so one of those…right now, I’m working on two other pieces, and I’ve found a lot more magazines I can submit to. That’s the most fun part for me, finding new markets.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

