Day 4 (Being A Rebel)

MAY 5TH — 0 WORDS

The weekend was a bust on writing my novella. I had slept in past noon. Once I woke up, I decided it was time to look over my critique partner’s final two chapters of her novel. It wasn’t fair to keep her waiting. Then, I wanted to post my book reviews because it’s not fair to keep those authors waiting.

But, I had to go to the grocery store, which forced me to turn off my computer. It had been on for awhile, so I decided to keep it off once I got back. Hey, I helped save on the electricity bill 🙂 I think I may have used that lame excuse last year during NaNo hee hee.

Later on that night, all these cool suspense movies kept coming on HBO and Encore Suspense. I stayed in the living room to watch Mindhunters, Straw Dogs, Abraham Lincoln Vampire Slayer, etc. etc. I should’ve went to my room to work, but my lazy ass wouldn’t move from the couch. A weak excuse but there you go. It was like I knew that I had something important to do, so I was rebelling on purpose. Why? Because I could make it up later.

During Straw Dogs, the person I was watching TV with stated, “How can people come up with this crazy stuff to write? Who are these people?” Then he glanced over at me. “I know who writes crazy stuff like this.”

  • It didn’t help that weeks ago, we watched a Wrong Turn marathon, and that I’m always picking out disturbing movies to watch. I can’t help what I like. But it got me thinking: what will my family and friends think of me if they read One By One? Or any of my dark stuff for that matter? Will they judge me? Or will they understand? I guess time will tell.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

