Best Moment Award

Awarding the people who live in the moment

The noble who write and capture the best in life

The bold who reminded us what really mattered

Savoring the experience of quality time

best-moment-award

THE RULES

  1. Create an acceptance speech either by video or a written speech post
  2. Pass the award onto 15 other bloggers and their posts

MY ACCEPTANCE SPEECH

I would love to thank Miss Alexandrina. She nominated me for the Best Moment Award after reading my Running A Marathon, Not A Sprint post. It’s been pretty cool beans interacting and bonding with other bloggers and writers. You guys motivated me to step up my game. It’s been over a year, and my blog has reached over 10,000 hits. I’d like to thank my followers and anyone who found what they were looking for on my blog. Search engines continue to be the main contributor for people over the world reading what I have to say.

At WVU, I told myself that if I didn’t have a career at the age of 30, then I would go back to school for a Masters degree. I’m happy that I decided to stop writing as a hobby. No kidding, back in the day, no one–and I mean NO ONE–could read my stories. They were for my eyes only. I would start rough drafts, have something else spark my interest, then abandon my original project to work on the new one. It was an endless cycle until everything was finally finished months or years later. In 2008, I let my co-worker read my graphic novel. Her reaction intrigued me. From there, I grew confidence that I could write interesting and entertaining stories for readers. Now, I write as a business. Being an author will be my career (0f course, I have realistic expectations). Yea, no extra student loan bills for the rest of my life hee hee!!!

I’d like to thank my writing buddies–in person and online–who have supported me. It’s been fun acting as critique partners and beta-readers as a trade-off. I’d also like to thank my friends and family. Next month, I’m publishing my debut novel, so I’d also like to thank any readers who find a way to my book.

For the longest time, I was clueless about the publishing industry. Authorhouse almost got its hand on me. Good thing, I was broke at the time. The waiting period caused me to research–this is where I found websites steering me clear of vanity publishers disguised as self-publishing companies. This led me to research the best way to get published, which led to learning about having an author platform. I researched the most effective way to blog, and the rest speaks for itself…so I’d like to thank Authorhouse as well even though it probably sounds silly. Thank you for giving wrong publishing facts, causing me to be curious enough to find answers for myself. Now, I know all the different alternatives and picked the right option for me.

Thanks for anyone who read all of that. I didn’t mean for my speech to be that long πŸ™‚

MY NOMINATIONS–my last award, no one really wanted to participate. Even though I nominated you, please don’t feel the need to continue the chain if you don’t want to. No hard feelings. I did cheat though–I only picked 11 instead of 15.

  1. Francene Carroll for A New Chapter, New Beginning
  2. Rebekkah Ford for Writers Block
  3. Thomas C for Bully For the Ages
  4. Brian J. Jarrett for Quotas and Goals
  5. L.M. Sherwin for Critiquing Your Work–Critters Workshop Time
  6. Paige Addams for Hearts, Dragon, and Titles
  7. Kellie Larsen Murphy for More Book Marketing
  8. Sharon C. Cooper for Talent, Passion and Discipline
  9. Poppy for My Current Life Theme
  10. Monica Shaughnessy for Book Marketing: What’s Working, What Ain’t
  11. Shannon A. Thompson for Writing Tips: How I Handle Rejection

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

8 thoughts on “Best Moment Award

    • Hey Sharon,
      Can’t wait to read it. I read your post about your giveaway. I think it’s cool that it’s based off describing your favorite character from your books. Very creative and original–having your fans remembering your books and having your characters memorable.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

    • Thanks Miss Alexandrina,
      It’s easier to write a speech than to say it out loud LOL

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      P.S. I’m going to a poetry reading this Sunday, so I probably should brush up on my public speaking skills πŸ™‚

Leave a comment