Authors Exhibiting Unprofessional Behavior–Tsk, Tsk, Tsk

For any book reviewers out there, have you ever experienced an author exhibiting unprofessional behavior towards you after you left a bad or so-so review for one of their books? Before you can answer that, it’d help to know what unprofessional behavior is:

An Author Is UNPROFESSIONAL when:

  • He believes that book reviews are for authors, not readers. Wrong!!! Book reviews are for readers to leave an opinion about something they read, so others can make an informed decision before deciding to purchase or not purchase a book. Book reviews are not to feed authors’ egos. If you want promotional material, then hire a publicist.
  • He believes that he can defraud the system. For example, if he doesn’t like a comment that someone wrote, then he thinks it’s okay to ask the person to remove their opinion from Amazon, Goodreads, or wherever. Wrong!!! People have a right to their opinion–reading is subjective. Therefore, people need to make an informed decision before they buy a product. If someone removes a book review, then potential customers aren’t getting the full picture. Defrauding the system also refers to resorting to sock-puppetry, which means after receiving a bad or so-so review, he encourages people to write 5 star reviews to undermine the honest review. Or retaliates, by encouraging people to give another writer a 1 star review without even reading the book.
  • He believes a honest review only refers to positive things. If anything is in a negative light or offers constructive criticism, then the reader must be wrong. In reality, he doesn’t want an honest assessment of his work; he only wants ego boosting. Once again, a reader can’t be wrong–reading and interpreting a story is subjective.
  • He believes it’s okay to keep bothering a person if they don’t follow through with his demands. If someone ignores you the first time, then get a clue. Unprofessional behavior is responding to negative reviews (whether in public or through email). Move on.

____

Some Advice:

  • I’ve heard through the grapevine that readers tend to skip the generic 5 star glowing reviews and actually appreciates the lower rated reviews, especially if they’re thoughtful. They tend to believe those more. And sometimes what someone didn’t like about the book, another person will buy because of that fact.
  • If something upsets you, take a moment and count slowly to ten. Vent to your family and friends in private. When you lash out, it’s very unprofessional and it gives self-publishers a bad name. If a book reviewer or reader didn’t care for your story, it’s not the end of the world. It hurts because it’s your baby, but that’s the way the cookie crumbles sometimes. Develop a thicker skin. If you can’t, then don’t ask book reviewers to bother with your story.

_____

Ever since I wrote this 3 star thoughtful review, the author has been bothering me through email. If he reads this, NO I’M NOT REMOVING MY REVIEW FROM AMAZON OR GOODREADS. I don’t care how many times you tell me to. Oh and the kicker, on more than one occasion, he’s told me that he can’t wait to read one of my books and leave a review. Anyone in this industry knows what that means…Thanks for the heads up, buddy!

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

P.S. I’m not going to stop being a book reviewer and I’m not bitter. I won’t let one unprofessional author taint the fun experience I’ve had so far.

16 thoughts on “Authors Exhibiting Unprofessional Behavior–Tsk, Tsk, Tsk

    • Thanks Jordanna,
      Yeah I’ve read some of those type of reviews–not pretty. I’m a reader who will check out a book just to see what the negative buzz is about; I’m like that with movies too.

      I go out of my way to be objective with every book I read. Some I fall in love with, some bore me, and some I don’t like. It’s crazy to expect everyone to love your work if you’re an author. You gotta take some bad with the good.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      • I had a guy contact me to review his book and I ended up not publishing the review because I thought the book was barely a step up from terrible. I emailed him what I thought, however. He was kind of pretentious about it. I had to explain that reading is subjective. I just didn’t like it. Wasn’t my “cuppa.” He eventually came around, but it was awkward.

      • I bet it was awkward. That was nice of you to discuss it with him (or perhaps have to defend yourself). I hate having to repeat myself more than once.

        For me, I would’ve published it–at least a mention of his book would’ve been out there, even if it was a bad review.

        Keep smiling,
        Yawatta

      • My rules when people approach me for a book review stipulate that they can choose to have it published or not, but I will not change or redact any part of it. The last author I posted a review for said he didn’t want to see it and to post whatever I wrote. I liked that guy. Haha. The Last Stonestepper. Great book. Highly recommend. Haha.

  1. Wow Yawatta…the unmitigated gall of some people! Mr. Whitehead should be embarassed! This is the second time this week I’ve read about someone soliciting a blogger for a favorable plug and then reacting badly when they didn’t get their way. Those who try to use the system (writers’ networks, etc.) for their own glorified self-promotion make it bad for the writers who respect the process.

    Keep doing what you’re doing, Yawatta. Honest opinions are contagious!

    • Thanks Kimberly,
      It does suck to hear some authors trying to cheat the system. It makes it harder for the rest of us. I say if you’re not ready to hear ANY criticism at all, then you’re not ready to publish.

      Who was the other blogger who’s being bothered by an unprofessional author? I read a couple of horror stories last month that described the author going to extreme measures for payback. Some people need anger management or a journal to jot down their feelings.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  2. I get very suspicious when a book has too many five star reviews because I figure the author is stuffing the ballot somehow, so to speak. Your review was nothing but eloquent and honest. I’m glad you came forward about this author behaving badly! He’s really only hurting himself with his behavior.

    • Thanks JalynnWrites,
      I wasn’t going to blog about the situation at first, but then I thought it’d be a good idea to warn other book reviewers in case he contacts them. That way they know what they could potentially be getting into. With advice of others, I don’t respond to his emails (but I save them).

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  3. That’s just sad. And I agree with Jordanna, your review wasn’t that bad. I actually read it the day you wrote it.

    Plus, if you review a book that’s got some obvious flaws and gush on and on about how much you love it and never mention the flaws, then that makes you as a reviewer look bad…or dishonest (even worse).

    For authors who’ve gotten a bad review, repeat after me: there is no bad PR.

    • Thanks Monica,
      I like your advice of there’s no bad PR. Even if you get a bad or so-so review, the book has gotten exposure. Readers will see that your book reached other readers (an audience) and that it was worth commenting on.

      When I see nothing but 5 stars, I scroll down until I see a lower number and read all those. They seem more objective.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  4. How awful, Yawatta! It’s sad to say, but this is one of the reasons I rarely accept Indie and self-pub submissions anymore – I do tours and I buy my own but I don’t take them in with a promise to review because I’ve ended up with so many headaches. I refuse to compromise my integrity either (standing ovation from me to you for that!!) but I don’t have time for the tiny percentage of authors who freak out over every sentence and make me miserable.

    I agree with Monica – I would never even have heard of this book if it hadn’t been for your review which wasn’t even that unflattering! Now I not only have heard of it, this book and this author have gone on my “never buy” list because I don’t want to put one penny in his pocket. I also am very offended that he’s the kind of author that stoops to threatening bloggers and putting up shill reviews. That’s low.

    Hang in there! You did the right thing – don’t you dare take down your reviews. 🙂

  5. Hey Barbara,
    Thanks for the support! I’ve never been one to respond to intimidation, so no worries I won’t take my reviews down.But man, I’d be scared to tell an author that their book was so bad that I won’t post a review. It’d feel like I ruined their dream or something (I know I’m a geek LOL).

    Last week was actually weird because the author liked my review on goodreads. I don’t know if he finally settled down, realizing his mistake; is being a smartass;etc.

    Have fun with your book reviewing 🙂 I’m subscribing to your blog to see if you recommend anything good; I’m always looking for stories for my reading challenge.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

  6. I review books as well, and since I want to avoid this type of thing, If I think the book is terrible, I won’t review it. I’ve actually sent print books back to the author because I couldn’t get through it.

    But your review wasn’t that bad! I don’t trust books that only have five and four stars, it usually means the author has sock puppets or friends and family reviewing for hi/her.

    • Hey Erin,
      It’s cool that you review books too. I’d be so scared if I refused to review someone’s book after reading it. It would seem like the author would pester you even more, trying to get you to change your mind or something. And that’s the one thing I hate most–being bothered LOL.

      I agree that it’s beneficial for books to have a variety of reviews. When I’m on Goodreads, I tend to skim down to the 3-2-1 stars to get a more accurate picture. I’ll have to check out your blog because I’m always on the look-out for entertaining books 🙂

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a comment