Book Review: Destiny By Cindy Ray Hale

Destiny Clark, a young Mormon girl living in Tennessee, is wildly infatuated with Isaac Robinson, the headmaster’s son at her Baptist high school. When they’re cast together in the school’s production of Les Misérables, Destiny is horrified to find that she has to be publicly humiliated by acting out her true feelings of rejection onstage.

As their rehearsals begin, Destiny realizes the unimaginable: Isaac has developed deep feelings for her despite their religious differences and the fact that he has a girlfriend.

But will they be able to find their place amongst the backbiters of their ultra-conservative world?

Weaving around Destiny and Isaac’s alternating viewpoints, Destiny is the first book in a series inspired by the characters of Les Misérables and explores heartbreak, self-discovery, intolerance, and love.

18744934I loved this novel. It was written through Destiny and Issac’s first person point-of-view accounts. My favorite lines: 1) “Rules are made to be broken.” 2) “How could I trust her if she didn’t respect my privacy?” 3) “I’m still here,” I called desperately. “This isn’t over.”

The author managed to write a realistic portrayal of teens falling in love. Some books make main characters the best thing ever, having guys fall over them. Having them dump their girlfriends right away for a chance to be with them. This story was realistic because Isaac was dating Aspen, the most popular girl in school. Even though he had a crush on Destiny, he didn’t pursue her. He stayed respectful to his girlfriend; as a reader, I really appreciated that.

I loved the slow build-up of Destiny and Isaac’s journey of becoming acquaintances. She always had a crush on him, but he hadn’t known it. Destiny and her brother were sort of outcasts because they were Mormons. Isaac and the other kids were judgmental and full of hatred at first.

My favorite characters were Hannah (she was cool because she was very open-minded; plus, I love my rebels), Destiny, Michael (Destiny’s brother), and Isaac. Cindy Ray Hale did a brilliant job with the setting. I could taste, hear, smell, and feel what the characters were going through. I felt the pain, betrayal, naivety, innocence, and all the other emotions that come with drama in one’s life.

If you want to know if Destiny and Issac ever got together, you’ll have to read to find out. I promise that the book is well worth the read.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

For more information on the author or book:

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

P.S. Don’t you love the cover? I just have to say that I’m really proud of my co-worker’s daughter. She’s the model on the cover. It’s always cool to see fellow West Virginians getting their name out there 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

