Woo Hoo, Who Wants To Follow Me On A Blog Hop!!!

Thanks Paige Addams for nominating me for the blog hop. I’ve always wanted to participate in this! I’m cheating a little–instead of focusing on my rough draft for my 90 day novel (still untitled), I’ll discuss the first novel I’ll publish this year.

RULES

1.  Give credit to the one(s) who tagged you

2.  Answer the following questions about your latest work in progress

3.  Tag 5 other authors and let them know you nominated them

QUESTIONS

1.  What is the title of your book?  One By One

2.  Where did the idea come from for the book?  For my first attempt at NaNo, I kept reading that it’s supposed to be a fun challenge. What better way to challenge yourself than to write in a genre you’ve never written in before.

3.  What genre does your book fall under?  Thriller

4.  Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?  I’m  cheating a little on this question 🙂 These are the actors I had in mind while I wrote my story (for the big screen, I’d want younger celebrities):

Michael Ealy--KENAN

Michael Ealy–KENAN

Beyonce--RAE

Beyonce–RAE

Giselle--SELMA

Giselle–SELMA

Tom Welling--TOBEY

Tom Welling–TOBEY

Daniel Sunjata--LOGAN

Daniel Sunjata–LOGAN

Halle Berry--NAOMI

Halle Berry–NAOMI

Ian Somerhalder--BRADY

Ian Somerhalder–BRADY

Mischa Barton--MARISSA

Mischa Barton–MARISSA

Jason Momoa--ADAM

Jason Momoa–ADAM

**All photos are from Yahoo Search Images***

5.  What is one-sentence synopsis of your book?  A group of friends vacation in an isolated cabin; they’re terrorized one by one. How many will survive? Three? Two? One? None?

6.  Is your book self-published or represented by an agency?  It’ll be self-published this year (2013).

7.  How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?  43 days

8.  What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?  That’s a good question. I have a bad habit of reading books but not paying attention to the author’s name. Whoever shares a fast paced writing style…

9.  Who or what inspired you to write this book?  My inspiration came from multiple sources. Agatha Christie is my favorite author, so I wanted to give my take on an updated “Then There Were None.” I really enjoyed the TV show “Harper’s Island” when I watched the marathon on the Chiller Channel, and all the “Scream” movies are my favorites. I wanted a story where a group of tortured friends have to figure out who’s the culprit, if they want a chance to survive. I also wanted a huge betrayal and a satisfying twist at the end.

10.  What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?  Let’s face it, there’s been plenty of books about a group of friends being murdered in the woods by a crazy killer. Mine is different because of the killer’s motivation. Hopefully, readers will feel what the characters are going through; I try my best to make every single scene engaging, showing rather than telling (like it would appear on the big screen). I believe that readers will enjoy the back and forth between characters (especially when they start turning on each other) and will be caught up with solving the mystery.

11.  Where can readers purchase your book?  This year (2013) it’ll be available on Amazon and Smashwords as an ebook; plus Amazon as a paperback.

12.  Where can readers find your website/blog?  My Writer’s Blog is here, and I’ll create an Author Website and Facebook Page right before my book release date.

MY NOMINATIONS

  1. Kellie Larsen Murphy
  2. Tracking the Words: a yearly cycle
  3. The Write Transition
  4. Shannon A. Thompson
  5. Journey of Jordanna East

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

P.S. Happy Writing!!!

8 thoughts on “Woo Hoo, Who Wants To Follow Me On A Blog Hop!!!

  1. Thanks so much for the nod! Would you believe I’ve been passed this several times, and yet I don’t do it? I’m not sure why I’m so private about my current WIP. Maybe it’s because I worry it will sound like a stupid idea to others. But I appreciate you passing it on to me. If I ever do write a post on it, I’ll be sure to add you to the list of bloggers who’ve passed it my way. 🙂

    Your book sounds great, and it’s funny to read about your crazy killer, because I just finished working on a scene with my crazy killer (see? I can tell you that much–there’s a crazy killer in my new book…) It’s weird trying to get inside his head.

    As for your pick of Daniel Sunjata to play one of your characters, it’s funny, because that’s who I’d pick to play Casper in my published novel. Either him or Detective Frost from Rizzoli and Isles. He’d be perfect too: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0949810/

    • Hey Carrie,
      Thanks for thinking my book sounds great. Crazy killer, huh? Sounds interesting…I love psychological thrillers. It’s fun getting inside the villain’s head for me; I don’t know what that says about me LOL.

      Daniel Sunjata is hot! I first noticed him from “Law and Order:SVU” back in the day, always disappointed he didn’t play a larger role LOL. I remember the other actor from the Disney series “Famous Jett Jackson.” Both good picks for your character.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      P.S. I used to be very protective of my story ideas and manuscripts. I wouldn’t talk about them or let anyone read them. I wrote them just for me. Besides Creative Writing classes in the 7th and 12th grade, the first time I let someone read my work was a graphic novel I did in 2008. I let a co-worker read it. From there, I was like ‘I can create stories as a business instead of just a hobby.’

  2. One By One was a lot of fun to read – good luck on the self-publishing process! 🙂 And I love the actors you chose. There were a couple there I didn’t recognize – I’ll have to look them up. 🙂

Leave a comment