#IWSG Blog Hop–Writing Surprised You?

photo-4

It’s that time again. IWSG hosts a blog hop the first Wednesday of every month. Writers get to discuss their doubts and fears they’ve conquered, their struggles and triumphs. Even though writing is a lonely activity, it doesn’t mean you can’t surround yourself with people who understand what you’re going through.

Showing vulnerability makes you strong. If you’d like to read more from bloggers who shared their personal experiences, then please click here.

September’s question–Have you ever surprised yourself with your writing? For example, by trying a new genre you didn’t think you’d be comfortable in?

I’ve surprised myself with my writing. Growing up, I only focused on dramas and mysteries. In 2011, I focused on my women’s fiction novella Something’s Amiss. It was going to be a romance, but I hated all the rules that came with the genre. My men aren’t manly enough, and my ladies aren’t likable enough. Oh well. My drama Room For Two was published in an online literary magazine. My very first short story that got recognition. I was so proud of myself.

Then, I found out about NaNo–a fun challenge of writing 50,000 words in the month of November. 50,000 words! I’ve never written that except for NaNo haha. 30,000-40,000 words is my sweet spot. Since NaNo was supposed to be fun, I didn’t take it seriously. I figured it would be fun to experiment with a genre I’ve never written before. I love horror movies, so why not try writing a horror or thriller story?

My very first NaNo challenge created One By One. I wrote exactly what I’d like to see on the big screen. It took me 30 days to write 50,000 words. Then, it took me a year to revise and edit. I was lucky to have my writing buddy Jim Baroni–a horror author–offer to edit my novel. He helped me keep my publishing schedule. Ever since, I’ve been dabbling in horror and suspense stories. That’s my passion right now. One day I’ll go back to dramas though. I absolutely love a story that can make me cry.

My writing has surprised me, and I hope it continues to do so.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

12 thoughts on “#IWSG Blog Hop–Writing Surprised You?

  1. You’ve found your niche with the horror/suspense thing for sure. Not everyone can do it, dropping of the red herrings to throw the readers off track. I don’t know if I could do that and keep the tension that is needed.

    • Thank you, Meka. Since I love mysteries and solving clues, that helps me come up with red herrings. Horror/suspense is definitely fun to write.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

    • Hi Raimey,

      Yeah I’m doing NaNo this month. It’s always fun because that’s the only time I get to hang out with other local authors. We meet in a cafe every Saturday during November (hope I didn’t jinx anything this year haha).

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  2. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog. It’s cool that you surprised yourself and found that horror and suspense are your niche.
    Never tried Nano, but I’ve heard that it’s done wonders for other writers.

    • Hi Toi,

      Yeah it was quite refreshing to figure out what path I want to take. Some family and friends still can’t wrap their head around why I write dark fiction. Oh well. Can’t please everyone…

      NaNo is fun. Camp NaNo is also pretty cool–that’s any month for people too busy to participate in November.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  3. I don’t think I could write romance for the same reasons you have. 🙂 But I’m glad NaNo helped you achieve something you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

