Patting Myself On the Back. I Acted Like A Professional Writer Today

Lately, I’ve been submitting short stories to magazines and anthologies. Lars’s Muse is one of my favorites. I’ve been submitting this flash fiction piece off and on since 2015 after it didn’t become a finalist for the contest The Cult of Me.

This month, I submitted Lars’s Muse to Horror Tree’s Trembling With Fear. Horror Tree is a great resource for writers looking for dark-themed places to submit to. Recently, the founder Stuart Conover decided to open up submissions to create a reading section for the site. New short stories are posted every Sunday.

Luckily, I heard from Stuart a couple days ago. Who knew a rejection could be rewarding? No sarcasm, I promise. I appreciated that he took the time to offer me suggestions to improve my story. Not only that but he gave me a chance to resubmit Lars’s Muse!

So instead of sulking over a rejection, I embraced it. I revised my story and resubmitted to Trembling With Fear. I’m very proud of myself for showing vulnerability by sharing my work and acting like a professional by listening to constructive criticism.

Maybe the 4th time will be Lars’s Muse lucky charm? I hope so. If not, then I’ll look for another place to send it.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

