Are You Too Fearful, Shocked, or Disgusted to Celebrate Horror With Me?

What does horror mean to you? The dictionary defines horror as “an intense feeling of fear, shock, or disgust.” Therefore, the horror genre plays on the fears of readers to startle, frighten, or disgust them. Sometimes horror fiction can evoke society’s fear, if you want to think about the big picture.

Do you like horror? I think it’s absolutely fun to scare myself. That’s why I go on ghost tours, watch scary movies nonstop, and read lots and lots of horror fiction. Not everyone feels the same way, but life would be boring if we all acted and felt the same.

I remember one day meeting an uptight lady and a laidback guy. It was around three months after publishing my first book, One By One. The guy was asking me about my book (we shared mutual friends even though it was the first time meeting him), but before I could answer, the lady chimed in about how she felt Stephen King wasn’t right in the head for the disgusting stuff he wrote. That he was truly sick and needed to be locked up. I don’t have a poker face, so who knew what type of faces I was making. I hate judgemental people. After her long winded rant, she congratulated me on being an author, then she asked me what genre I wrote. In my most deadpan expression, I answered, “I write like Stephen King.” Cheeks flushed red, she walked away. I smiled inside, knowing I would’ve made Daria proud.

February is Women’s Horror Month. I can’t wait! For twenty-eight days, I’ll be talking nothing but horror. I’ll add suspense too because obsession, stalkers, killers, and creeps are my biggest fears. I hope you stick around for my blog event. Help me celebrate female horror writers.

What’s your biggest fear? Do you like the horror genre, or are you too afraid or too disgusted to read it? Please share your thoughts below.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

2 thoughts on “Are You Too Fearful, Shocked, or Disgusted to Celebrate Horror With Me?

  1. I can read horror better than I can watch it. I’m odd that way. It’ll have me on the edge of my seat, but my OMG I’m going to have nightmares reaction aren’t the same when I can process it through reading rather than watching. There’s a genre for everyone and like you, I don’t care much for judgmental people. Looking forward to see what you have in store for us next month. 🙂

    • Hey Meka,

      I’ve been watching scary movies since I was a pre-teen. I still remember when my cousin Devin forced me to watch The Exorcist. I had nightmares for a week! I was always too scared to read horror novels though. There’s no creepy background music to warn me of a terrifying scene. But, I got the courage to read horror in 2011 and haven’t stopped since. In fact, my first book was from Griffith Hayes, a member from AW.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

