Weekend Writing Warriors Excerpt #31

I’m back! The Weekend Writing Warriors is an awesome site that allows writers to share their 8 to 10 sentence excerpts, published or unpublished, to the blogosphere. If you’d like to join or would like to read wonderful talent, please visit the WeWriWa website on Sunday, 1/8: http://wewriwa.com.

This week I’ll be sharing my WIP of my sequel Six Plus One. Alta and her friends leave Voy on a road trip to Green Bank, West Virginia. They plan to film footage for their popular alien-centric web series. What should be a get-in and get-out situation turns into a deadly nightmare.

Here’s my excerpt:

“We didn’t forget the wireless mics, right?” Alta’s cell phone rang. She picked it up on the second ring. “Hey, dad, what’s up?”

“Wanted to make sure everything’s okay. Kendrick’s following the speed limit, correct? You guys aren’t bringing attention to yourselves, right?”

“We’re going to isolated woods to contact aliens. What could go wrong?”

“I’m serious, Alta…”

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

24 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors Excerpt #31

    • Hey Meka,

      I was looking over my writing goals and remembered liking the Weekend Writing Warriors blog hop. I need to learn how to share more of my WIPs.

      Been also looking at the Twitter hashtags for writers, so I can jump on the bandwagon.

      When you’re ready to join again, you’ll have fun.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  1. I’m wondering if Dad is just touching base, or overprotective, or suspicious, or a micro-manager. Given Alta’s response, he might have reason to keep tabs on her…

    • Hey Ed,

      I went there for my RA retreat. Our boss didn’t tell us what Green Bank was famous for until we got down there. We didn’t believe him, thinking he was just trying to scare us, but the museum changed our minds. We scared ourselves at the summercamp, our minds going wild from boredom.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  2. Uh oh, going to isolated woods… What could go wrong??? Famous last words. Excellent snippet, Yawatta!

    Welcome back! It’s good to see you here again.

    I don’t have a snippet posted this week. 🙂

    • Thanks for the warm welcome, Veronica! For some reason I find myself drawn to stories of characters having to fight in order to survive.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

