10 Minute Novelist

Hi. I’m proud to say that I’m a 10 minute novelist.

One day I was looking for inspiration. Believe it or not, no matter how many times I told myself I’d write every day, it didn’t happen! I came across this wonderful website called 10 Minute Novelists right before NaNo. How is it already December?

The founder, Katharine Grubb, says “I decided that my dreams were worth fighting for. I decided that doing something was better than doing nothing. And I decided that if I waited until I had the perfect conditions, I would never get that novel written.”

Besides finding the 10 Minute Novelists website, I also joined their Facebook group. Their three goals–tips, encouragement, and community.

So far, I’ve found motivation to write every day. Not necessarily always fiction, but writing nonetheless. I have to keep a steady blog schedule somehow. 🙂

I discovered that just finding 10 minutes out of my day to focus on writing has really, really helped. I’m writing about 400 words each session block. Hopefully, I can keep up this momentum.

Thinking in terms of 10 minutes has improved my goals in so many ways:

  • It takes the pressure off of me, not feeling guilty for not writing in long sessions
  • I get bursts of energy, feeling productive in these quick sessions
  • I found my balancing act with novellas, short stories, comics, reading, scripts, and editing/revising

For any inspiring writers out there, please know your first draft doesn’t have to be perfect. Just focus on getting your words down on paper; you can always edit later. And, you don’t have to commit hours upon hours a day to consider yourself a real writer. No siree. Everyone has their own schedule, their own pace. If you can commit to 10 minutes a day, then you’re good to go. At the end of the day, writers write. 🙂

Good luck!

For any writers out there, how do you find motivation to keep working on your fiction or other writing projects?

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

