Help Me Please! Help Me Please! I Need To Pick a Title for My One By One Sequel!

photo-1

I’ve been a busy bee, revising my One By One sequel after getting feedback from a beta-reader. My next step is to possibly find more betas or…skip to finding a cool book cover and hiring an editor.

The only catch…

I NEED A TITLE!!!!!

For anyone who read One By One, you know the book ended with Detective Brown disgusted and traumatized over the crime scene in the woods. He wants to find justice for those poor victims and vows to keep his daughter safe from the horrors of the world.

Sequel time–Detective Brown can’t keep that promise. Alta (Detective Brown’s daughter) and her group of friends leave Voy, Virginia (totally a made up town hee hee) on a road trip to Green Bank, West Virginia (totally real with an awesome secret). Alta and her friends travel there to film footage for their popular alien-centric web series.

What should be a get-in and get-out situation turns into a deadly nightmare…

After brainstorming, I came up with so many possibilities for a title name that I can’t pick one. Can you help me? In the comments below, I’d be very grateful to anyone who leaves a comment revealing the title they like best from my list or coming up with their own. I’d really appreciate it, and I’ll thank you in the acknowledgments page when I publish the book 🙂

Here’s what I came up with:

  • Seven Campers. One Survivor.
  • Six Dead. One Lived.
  • Die, Die, DIE!!!
  • Killer in the Woods
  • Killer Among Us
  • Six Plus One

Once again, thank you to all that votes.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

 

 

4 thoughts on “Help Me Please! Help Me Please! I Need To Pick a Title for My One By One Sequel!

  1. Ooh, sounds good. I love that their inciting moment is going for their alien web series. Very niche. My favourite out of the titles is SIX PLUS ONE because it suggests that element of danger that there’s somebody else in the woods and the plus is going to create minus lives ( 😉 ), and also creates a tangible, quick link back to ONE BY ONE. My least favourite titles – if you don’t mind me saying – are Six Dead. One Lived. It doesn’t really catch my attention, and I get a little caught reading the use of past tense in the title. And Die, Die, DIE!!! probably because of the capitilization and punctuation. But that style might match the novella, I don’t know.

    • Hey Alexandrina,

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I wanted to play with numbers in the title. I’m happy you like Six Plus One. I’m sort of leaning towards that one too. Thanks for your reasoning on why you didn’t like those other two titles. Getting opinions like that will help me narrow down my choices. When I made my list, I was in a silly mood, seeing how outrageous I could get haha.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  2. I’m terrible at creating titles for my own work, so I’ll just tell you the one that caught my eye was also SIX PLUS ONE. The title is the only one that piques my curiosity and would cause me to take the book down from the shelf and explore further, if I were to run across it at the bookstore. Best of luck to you with this book. D~

    • Hey Disa,

      Thank you for your input. It really means a lot. I agree with you and Alexandrina—ix Plus One sounds the best and easily fits with One By One.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

