Finding Motivation (My Curiosity of Blair Witch Project Helped With That)

Finding inspiration for story ideas can be found anywhere. I just happened to get inspired at work. Sitting at a desk all day in a office forces me to daydream hee hee. The other day I was talking to my coworkers Sarah and Leigh. We were comparing local ghost stories and urban legends. Even in the broad daylight, I was terrified. It’s so fun scaring yourself!

Sarah is awesome. She’s a writer like me, and I go to her for quirky random facts. She understands that I’m an oddball and doesn’t try to change me. I can always appreciate that. I want to thank her for the shout out she gave me on her blog 🙂 And, I think it’s cool that she attempted to film a horror movie in school. I admire anyone who’s not afraid to put themselves out there.

My first potential project involves The Blair Witch Project. Living in West Virginia, I’m only about twenty minutes away from Burkittsville, MD. Does a witch truly haunt those woods? Is it a hoax? If someone were to make up an urban legend, why would it be for that small town?

Being an INTJ, my mind is always full of questions. I need to know these answers to this urban legend even if I just make something up–hence why I write fiction. It’d be fun to create something involving a group of people investigating The Blair Witch woods only to find trouble, of course. I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t write dark fiction…

I’m a bit crazy and I believe you only live once, so I keep debating if I’d ever step foot in those woods. I mean, a part of me believes the legend. The risk is I wouldn’t make it out of the forest. Crazy! Crazy! Crazy! That’s the only thing holding me back. I like my life. I don’t want to disappear. I don’t want to die. I’m a bit crazy but I’m not stupid.

The last session of my Comic  Art class ended tonight. There’s so many ways I could create this fictional project:

  • As a comic book
  • As a graphic novel
  • As a short story
  • As a novel or novella
  • As an article, pitching it to blog/magazine editors
  • As a screenplay
  • As a short film

So many options! Ideas aren’t copyrighted, so I better hurry up and make a decision to get to work!

My second idea for a project stems from the fact that my boss has this “window” in his office. He can see us, but we can’t see him, like a two-way mirror. My mind started playing tricks on me, Alfred Hitchcock as my inspiration. What if a character is plotting each person’s death as he watches them one by one through the “window”?

What if questions are awesome, especially if you have an active imagination. I was lucky to find motivation the other day. I took a hiatus on writing to focus on comics. After talking to my coworkers, I want to start putting pen to paper again. I want to scare my readers to the point they need a light on in order to fall asleep. If only I could be the next female Stephen King…

If you’ve heard of The Blair Witch Project, what’s your take on it? Do you think it’s real? Fake? Exaggerated?

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

 

4 thoughts on “Finding Motivation (My Curiosity of Blair Witch Project Helped With That)

  1. What a juicy old story- The Blair Witch Project. To pique our curiosity and play with the preternatural, perhaps the town of Burksittsville denies the existence of the witch to preserve a positive image for the town; Perhaps each member of the small, 200 person community is in fact… a witch! You write a short story about a straggler tourist, visiting the town 17 years after the movie’s release, having breakfast at a tiny local diner and camping in the woods… hearing all of the crazy sounds and being pursued.. then…!!!!

  2. I like the two-way mirror idea. I just read a book review about people who were born on February 29. They have super powers and are recruited by the military, whether or not they want to fight. Interesting concept.

    I watched The Blair Witch Project after all that hype and I didn’t care for it. I think th only thing I remember were boogers coming out of that one woman’s nose.

    • Hey Denise,

      I was scared of the movie, but it came out when I was a teenager. It was the first time I ever saw anything filmed in documentary style. The editing made it seem real, instead of just watching a movie. I think that’s why I was really scared…what happened to those three people? I kept thinking. The ending image of them all facing the wall gave me chills down my spine!

      I’m going to turn the two-way mirror idea into a short story or write a short film. It should be fun.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

