Flash Fiction Prompt #4

1/4/16

Prompt: Restraint

It’s my own fault, I guess. I have a habit of bottling up my feelings, so one small thing can set me off–just from built up anger.

It may not be true, but I think I better stay silent. I better remain calm and not show any emotions.

Because let me tell you, I’m pissed the fuck off.

The stranger on the bus is yelling at the driver, causing him distress. If the stranger makes the driver lose concentration, then heaven forbid, the driver accidentally runs through a red light or runs off the road.

What is the asshole, sitting in front of me, thinking?

That’s the problem–I don’t think any thought process is going through his brain. The stringy gray hair asshole is probably drunk. Bipolar. Or just an entitled asshole.

Around ten minutes ago, I had turned up my iPod to tune everything out, but the guy’s screaming surpasses my Wale verse.

I look out of the window. Why won’t the driver take an exit and pull over? He needs to kick this guy off the bus. Why continue arguing with him? I just don’t get it.

A mile later–only fifteen minutes away from my Walmart stop–the bus stops in the middle of the busy intersection!

The driver stands and turns toward us. Pointing his finger at the asshole in front of me, he says, “Get off the bus! I’m tired of hearing your disrespect.”

“Are you crazy? I’m not getting off. Drive the damn bus!” He rises from his seat and rushes to the front of the bus.

Still no one intervenes. Not even me. I close my eyes and sigh. This can’t be happening right now…

I open my eyes and gasp. A mac truck is heading right our way! It slams into the bus, forcing us forward. I land on top of a young woman and her small boy. We’re squished between the seat and the bumper of the truck.

I say a little prayer before I take my final breath.

THE END

If anyone would like to join me and local author MT Decker in the 42 A Day Flash Fiction Challenge, then please let me know.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

