Flash Fiction Prompt #1

1/1/16 Prompt

Anticipation

It’s all my fault. I can admit that to myself, but I don’t know if I’m ready to tell Damon that yet. He’s a ‘I told you so’ arrogant prick, and I’m really not in the mood to hear that right now.

I glance up at the clock.It’s four-thirty. I’ve never been so nervous in my life. At any moment, he’ll come back from his lunch charging through those double glass doors.

The lunch where he’s had plenty of time to think about me and how I disrespected him.

As the boss, he won’t take that lightly.

My co-workers are avoiding eye contact with me like I have a fatal disease and may be contagious.

Sweat falls down my forehead as I place a strand of hair behind my ear. Blushing, I continue to work on my spreadsheet. Any minute I may get fired. I’d have to swallow my pride then and apologize to Damon.

When he walks through the doors, I feel his eyes focused on me. I continue to stare at my computer screen, too afraid to look up.

Soon, I feel Damon’s presence. In fact, he invades my personal space. Turning my head to face the music, I look him in his hazel eyes.

He smiles weakly. “I’m sorry, Yvonne. I appreciate all the hard work you’ve done for me. I shouldn’t have added the stress of another assignment.”

I almost faint but simply smile back. This won’t help the office rumors that I’m Damon’s favorite.

THE END

If anyone wants to join me and fellow local writer Mary Decker in the 42 Flash A Day Challenge, then please click on the link.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

2 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Prompt #1

Leave a Reply

