Geez Louise, I Haven’t Posted About My Writing Journey In Months But I Swear I’ve Been A Busy Bee!

The other day I heard some good news. My boss’s daughter wants to be a writer. How cool is that? I love hearing about people who want to share their words with the world. It takes bravery and vulnerability, two traits I admire. I would love the chance to talk about writing with her one day. If anything can bring me out of my shy bubble, it’s talking about writing and/or tv shows and movies.

The good news motivated me to write this post, sharing what I’ve been up to. My editor, Monica Shaughnessy, was awesome in making Twisted Obsession the best it could be. I’m finished my rewrite. Now, I’m just waiting on that perfect book cover.

My writing buddies Melissa, Zach, and I are brainstorming ideas for a tv spec pilot. I can’t wait until we work on the script and try to sell to networks. It’ll be fun. My only dilemma–if I pursue writing screenplays, would I actually consider moving to California?

I’m back in school, taking an online 20 week course–Marketing 101 for Freelance Writers. I’m been busy with my homework. Just like I had to create my author platform before I published my first book, I have to create a professional social media prescene before I can land professional gigs.

Melissa and I decided to give ourselves another short story challenge. We’re going to produce one story every month for the rest of the year. I’m happy we went back to that because it keeps me motivated. In fact, I have two projects due by August 31st:

  • I plan on submitting my short story to the DIY MFA Anthology.  It has to be at least 2,000 words with an origin theme. Using the prompt generator, my story has to use a wallflower, ballot box, museum hallway, get left at the altar.
  • I plan on submitting another short story to the Ink Slingers Anthology. The story can be 1,000 to 10,000 words and it has to be spooky, creepy, horror, funny, or Halloween themed. Creepy stories are right up my alley.

I’ve also been dabbling with two novels. One in the revision stage, and the other is only starting out as the first draft.

As you can see, I’ve been a busy bee these past few months, which is exactly why I haven’t been blogging as much. Blah to there only being 24 hours in a day. Blah, blah, blah…

For all the writers out there, what projects are you working on?

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

4 thoughts on “Geez Louise, I Haven’t Posted About My Writing Journey In Months But I Swear I’ve Been A Busy Bee!

  1. Great to see how you’re doing, Yawatta! Tell me when Twisted Obsession is released, and I can do something on my blog for it 😀

    At the moment, I’ve just come out of a writing slump. Still trying to query When the Clock Broke, but I’m not really getting much interest. 😦 I wrote a Steampunk novella for CampNaNo, and I am mostly pleased with how it went – at the moment it’s resting for editing.
    Other than that, I’m currently writing a contemporary romance short for subbing to an anthology in, like, December-time. I’ve got nothing else to work on for the moment as I give some time for my novella. I may need your critique expertise at some point, as my new romance short story is/will be more explicit than my usual for-publication writing, and my usual CPs don’t really deal with romance-only or non-YA projects. Not sure I can throw it at them, you know? 😉

    • Hey Alexandrina,

      I’ll definitely let you know when Twisted Obsession is published. Thanks for your support 🙂

      If you still need me, I’d love to give feedback on your story. I hope everything works out with the other two books. NaNo is a stressful challenge, but it helps writers produce quality books–after edits.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      • Yes, I’d still love your help – though, I’ve been struggling to write recently, so I’ve not yet finished the story, but I’m hoping to finish it soon, as I’m aiming for about 15k words, and currently have 11k. It’s just tying the loose ends concisely. I could probably get the first chapter or so to you soon. I haven’t decided whether I want to ‘close the door’ or be more steamy, so I’ve been skipping that for now in favour of wordcount.
        Also currently editing said NaNo novella, which my CP is enjoying so far, so that’s giving me a little hope in my writing. But, to be honest, I’d like some luck with writing at the moment, as it’s really disheartening.

      • I’m sorry that your dealing with writer’s block at the moment. It happens to me too. Sometimes you just gotta give yourself a break and know it’s okay 🙂 I’m here when you need me.

        Keep smiling,
        Yawatta

Leave a Reply

