What I’ve Learned By Hanging Out In Books-A-Million

I took a little break from ebooks and my kindle to support Books-A-Million, my favorite spot in The Commons shopping center. For the past few weeks, I bought 2 graphic novels and 3 novels. As a writer wearing my reader’s hat, this is what I learned:

  1. Covers are everything, especially the spines. I picked books from the shelves by appearance alone. Bold colors and large fonts caught my attention.
  2. The 1st couple of pages are EVERYTHING! A few books looked interesting because of the cover and blurb but the beginning was boring, forcing me to put the books back.
  3. There were quite a few books that looked novella length, which is motivation for me. Still having a dream of having my books in a bookstore one day, I need to submit to agents or publishers with at least 1 or 2 books. And, when I do, I won’t necessarily have to write a 400-500 page novel to be considered for publication. Shorter books are making a comeback 🙂

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

