Book Review: Trigger Finger by Jackson Spencer Bell

***I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review***

When two intruders break into his house one night bent on attacking his family, Kevin Swanson fights back–with deadly consequences. In the aftermath, he rockets from obscure lawyer to local hero overnight–a hero to everyone, that is, except for a strange man who calls in to a local talk radio show when Kevin appears as a guest. The caller, who won’t reveal his name, has a message: Kevin is no hero. And his story about what happened isn’t even close to accurate. Suddenly, Kevin finds himself thrust into the center of one violent crime after another, rising to the occasion and exceeding his wildest expectations each time. Strangely, though, none of his attackers carry any identification. And as his doubts drive him through his own investigation of what really happened that night, his crumbling reality sends him hurtling towards a face-to-face confrontation with the nameless caller-and the horrifying truth that won’t let him hide.

I loved this book! My favorite lines: 1) “He wants to show that I’m a pussy,” I said. “He wants to make me into a bitch.” 2) “No wonder Brandon persisted in delusional thinking. These people spent all day surrounded by absolute bullshit.” 3) “That’s no man, replied a voice in my head. This one didn’t belong to Bobby or Kate or Allie; I recognized this as my own. I think you know that.” 4) “Her voice had lowered to a whisper raspy and dry, like newspaper left in the desert sun.” 5) “…but I had woken up on the couch in the basement with my fully-loaded AK-47 clutched against my chest like some kind of fucked-up teddy bear.”

The author did a brilliant job with the main character’s voice. Kevin sounded like a local hero being harassed by a stalker. When readers get a glimpse into his therapy sessions, they realize there’s definitely something more to Kevin, whether he’s in denial or guilty of something. You’ll have to read the book to find out.

It was interesting that Kevin described his stalker as the Bald Man. Not only that, but he was also convinced that the Bald Man used golems (objects made of clay who come to life) to attack him.

I don’t want to give too much away; however, make sure to pay attention to what the palm reader, Rudy, says about Kevin and his brother Bobby. From the first page, I sat on the edge of my seat, captivated by the suspense and mystery surrounding Kevin’s family. Like him, I started to wonder if his wife and daughter lied about being attacked upstairs, so Kevin wouldn’t lose his sanity from the guilt of not reaching his family in time. 

The story ended with a great twist, and the scene of Kevin confronting Ruby gave me chills.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

