Book Review: Real Illusions By Tanya R. Taylor

23784030***I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review from the Paranormal & Horror Lovers Goodreads group***

The mansion in the woods holds chilling secrets that have sauntered down throughout the generations. Trent Matheson, a victim of a brutal past he had absolutely nothing to do with is afraid of what lies within him. Struggling to live an ordinary life, he finds that the control he once possessed is slowly slipping away. The money, the power, the newly-found love…cannot subdue what is inherently a part of him. He is entering ‘The Season’ where he will be forced to face the essence of who he is in a fight for his very life.

Real Illusions offers a remarkable  edge where two storylines are intricately intertwined. It’s as if the reader is getting two books in one.

Let me start out by saying, this isn’t typically a book I read (so take my opinion with a grain of salt). I thought it would be more horror than paranormal/fantasy/supernatural (?)–I can never tell the difference between those. The book was okay. The story really didn’t get into ‘The Season’ or Trent going through his changes. I figured that was because the main character was confused and shocked with this new revelation, so readers were learning new stuff when he was. The story was interesting by showing the character’s dynamic with his co-workers and friends. Sounded like he was respected until…you’ll have to read to find out.

My favorite parts included the female main character. I loved her relationship with the little girl and her aunt when she moved to the United States. All this eventually tied into Trent’s life with a cool twist. The ending was my favorite; it was getting suspenseful, then it ended abruptly in a cliffhanger. I really wanted to see Trent find out the woman’s secret, but I guess that’ll be in the next book?

Overall, it was a good story. I just wish there would have been more showing instead of telling. At times the characters told what happened or what was happening, instead of showing it through a scene.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

 

Leave a Reply

