Book Review: Fiendish–A Twisted Fairytale By Meka James

22375521***I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review***

Fiendish is a dark and twisted take on Beauty and The Beast. This story contains mature themes meant for readers 18+.

So what would you do if your prince charming turned out to be the worst kind of monster?

Calida Alexander moves from Charlotte to Atlanta after a painful break up. She faced some harsh realities about herself during that breakup and desperately wants to change who she perceives herself to be. When she meets Seth, she is drawn in by his sexy good looks and is won over by his gentlemanly demeanor. On the surface, he’s her dream come true.

Seth Jokobi is sexy and charming, the kind of man that women dream of being with. As a master manipulator, he uses his charm and good looks as a lure. His prey never suspect that lurking behind those piercing blue eyes and million dollar smile, lies a sadistic monster. When he meets Calida, her shy nature tempts him into playing a game where the stakes end up being higher than he could have imagined.

Can love really conquer all or is it sometimes just enough?

Warning: This e-book contains sexually explicit scenes some that may contain dubious and non-consent, adult language, and graphic violence and may be considered offensive to some readers.

I loved this dark, twisted story. I’m not going to lie, the length of the book scared me. I didn’t know if I could get through 600 plus pages, but I’m happy I took the challenge (which ended up not being a challenge at all. It was a fast read because I was engrossed in all the drama and conflict). The story was written through Seth and Calida’s first person point-of-view accounts. My favorite lines: 1) “You believing you know anything about me could prove to be a grave error on your part.” 2) Tonight wasn’t about sex, it was about power. 3) Her shy demeanor made me want to study her outside of the confines of my basement. For now at least.

The author wasn’t afraid to write in fear, and I respect her for that. Seth was a cold-hearted bastard and I loved reading every moment. He was sick and gave me the creeps. For example, one of his inner-thoughts was: Why aren’t you playing with her now? Using ‘you’ instead of ‘I’ put distance like a serial killer or multiple personalities. The entire premise: Seth owns Pets, who are women. Some he locks in his basement to torture, but Calida is special in his eyes, so she gets a different treatment.

He was very controlling. I liked that Macy, Calida’s best friend, had suspicions. It made the story more realistic. She kept questioning Calida but her low self-esteem wouldn’t allow her to leave him. Just my opinion, but I couldn’t stand Calida. She was too weak for me and definitely a Mary Sue type (but it fit the storyline). My favorite characters were Seth (the perfect villain), Macy, and Malcolm. They brought charm and personality where Calida was lacking.

Some parts were repetitive, especially in the narration, but that just boiled down to the characters’ obsessions with each other. I swooned during the steamy sex scenes and cringed in the abusive ones. Seth was definitely a prick. Besides their relationship, there was other tension. Calida had a crappy boss and her sister was awful. No wonder she held on to Seth for dear life, besides Macy, she really didn’t have anything else to be happy about. I did feel bad for her, especially her backstory with her ex. I cheered for her when she started to fight back with mind games towards Seth. Someone needed to put him in his place.

My favorite section was 77% to the ending. I couldn’t put the book down! All hell broke loose, and I wish the author would’ve spent more time on the aftermath of Calida seeing the basement. This section was very entertaining and I feared for all the characters. Seth was a controlling asshole, who was determined to harm anyone Calida loved if she ever dared leave him.

I’m looking forward to the sequel…broken characters are interesting to read about. Bring on the drama.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Fiendish–A Twisted Fairytale By Meka James

Leave a Reply

