Weekend Writing Warriors Excerpt #19

Weekend Writing Warriors is an awesome blog site that allows writers to showcase their published and/or unpublished work to the blogosphere by sharing an 8-sentence excerpt. It’s a great chance to get feedback on drafts or to find new readers for published stories. If you’d like to participate or find new authors, please visit the WeWriWa’s website on Sunday, October 26th.

Sequoia’s involved in a celebrity scandal, and she just finished reading a magazine article slut shaming her. She’s on her way to the airport with her best friend and co-star, Kenley. Here’s my excerpt:

“This will all blow over in a couple of months. Your friends and family have your back no matter what. They definitely went too far with calling you a whore in the title. I have a feeling many women will boycott that; influential, high executives, popular actresses–we won’t stand for that. Gossip Reel should be ashamed of themselves, a bunch of women setting us back. Men use that derogatory term against women, women shouldn’t use it on each other.”

“Do you really think some people will boycott?” [Sequoia asked.]

Kenley held Sequoia’s hand, keeping her other one on the 10 position of the steering wheel. “Absolutely, I’m first on the list.”

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

 

16 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors Excerpt #19

    • Hey Linda,

      Thank you. Writing dialogue is my favorite part of scenes. I hate the double standard that male celebrities can get away with cheating, probably even gaining more fans. But, female celebrities are slut shamed or taken off projects.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  1. I think you’ve captured the sad way the modern media world treats celebrity women and her friend is right on, especially about the scandal blowing over. (Something else always comes up, right?) Enjoying the story, great snippet. You make me feel for your character!

    • Thanks Veronica!

      Yeah something new comes up all the time. Or, if not, media will just make up rumors LOL. I’m happy you care for Sequoia–I was afraid people would hate her for her mistakes.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

    • Hey Sue Ann,

      I know, right? It’s totally not fair. Usher cheats and claims he’s a “sex addict.” No biggie. In fact, he gets more female fans and the guys high-five him. Jude Law–same thing. Nothing happens to his career. But, Kristin Stewart cheats and she’s banned from filming the sequel of Snow White and the Huntsmen. Don’t get me wrong, I love Chris Hemsworth, but with that movie, I enjoyed his interaction with her character the most. So, why would I watch the sequel now?

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  2. I liked the dialogue. It flowed easily and you could feel the support Kenley had for her friend. It’s sad that people still feel the need to put people down so they feel better about themselves. So much stuff is sensationalized in the media these days. Unfortunately if this is a rag magazine, I don’t think many celebs support them anyway. It’s the everyday folk those kinds of publications attract.

    • Hey Meka,

      Thank you. Dialogue is my favorite story element to write. Gossip Reel is in the same category as People or In Touch magazine. In fact, I called it In Touch magazine in my story, but my critique partner told me to change it (don’t want to get sued LOL).

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      P.S. I used to be obsessed with those magazines and blogs like Perez Hilton, but I’ve calmed down over the years. I watch TMZ but not everyday.

Leave a Reply

