Conquer the Craft In 29 Days

What should I do after participating in July’s Camp NaNo? Join another challenge, of course!

August 1st-August 29th is the Conquer the Craft in 29 Days DIY MFA’s Writing Challenge. Every day writers will get a writing prompt to focus on, and for the last 2 days of the month, there will be a writing retreat (August 30-August 31). Anyone participating can use the hashtag #CTC29 to socialize with other members.

I’ve been searching for online writing classes to take, trying to learn more about the craft. But, everything seems to be the instructor won’t give feedback. So what’s the point? The line that got me to sign up for this 29 day challenge was:

We’ve designed this series of writing exercises not just to inspire you and get your creativity going, but also to help improve your writing. Each prompt targets a specific technique or element of craft so that by the end of the month not only will you be writing more, you’ll be writing better.

If anyone’s interested in signing up for the FREE DIY MFA challenge, here’s the link: Conquer the Craft in 29 Days.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

 

2 thoughts on “Conquer the Craft In 29 Days

  1. What helped me the most in writing was reading authors that I wanted to write like, and just working diligently to improve. I’ve written off and on for five years and my prose was often awkward as hell XD I took a lot of chances and I failed quite a bit, but that’s the only way to learn. I immersed myself in McCarthy, Faulkner, and Atwood because I loved poetic prose. I made friends with writers better than me, so they helped me a lot. They beta read my fanfics for me and gave me detailed critique. Concrit works best if you trust the person giving it. I was lucky enough to be friends with some great writers, so I trusted their judgement. Only one of my close friends is a really good writer and we read each other’s stuff. I lost touch with the others :/ There are writing critique groups online. I’m a member of one, but I’m kind of ambivalent about the feedback. They pointed out some things which i agreed were flaws, but one person said something i didn’t quite agree with. I mean i did and i didn’t. There was some truth to what he was saying. He said i was doing all “tell” and no “show.” But a story with no “telling” is confusing and boring as hell because the writer doesn’t know what’s going on XD I could add more “show,” but I’m not going to force it and make it sound awkward either. I think my dialogue could use more “show.” I struggle a lot with dialogue :/ I found some local writing critique groups through meetup.com. I might try that 🙂 Good luck ^^ There’s no one way to improve. That’s just what worked for me. Now I’m reading lots of literary magazines. Trying to master what makes a short story good. I’ve got a lot going on next month or else I might consider it 🙂 There’s so much more for me to learn about writing. I feel like the more I learn the more I realize how little I actually know :$

    • Hey Paper Butterfly,

      I’m always in search of learning things and researching. I have an addictive personality LOL. It’s cool that you’ve managed to get help. Having crit partners and beta-readers online is cool, but my favorite is seeing people in person. Just a little while ago, my writing buddy and I met with another local writer. We’re going to help each other stay motivated and critique each other’s work.

      I get what you’re saying about show and tell. It’s always good to find the right balance. Personally, I don’t mind telling because I prefer shorter fiction. When things get overexplained, I get bored easily. I’m pretty good with dialogue, with blending the conversation in with body language. If you ever want me to look at anything, let me know. My email is Author.Yawatta.Hosby(At)aol(Dot)com.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

