Book Review: Playmates By Jess C. Scott

***I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review***

ABOUT THE SERIES:

A psychological thriller about a brother sister serial killing team–and their slow descent into amoral mayhem.

Follow the Wilde twins in a twisted tale of love and loyalty…

GENRE: Psychological Thriller

***

Book 1 PLAYMATES:

As kids, Tania and Trevor’s unsupervised play time offers a lifeline to sanity amidst the chaos of family dysfunction. When danger threatens Tania, Trevor isn’t willing to stand by and watch his sister get hurt. The instinct for survival is only rivaled by the killer instincts the Wilde siblings encourage in each other. Instincts that turn into a deadly game igniting their first taste for blood.

Book #1 in The Wilde Twins trilogy.

18212105I enjoyed this book. Meet Trevor and Tania, a set of twins who were doomed from the start. Talk about dysfunctional parents! Each twin had a first person point-of-view account, my favorite type of stories to read. My favorite line: “Do the crime, do the time…”

I respected the author’s edginess. She wasn’t afraid to tackle taboo subjects. I can’t really explain; otherwise, I’d be posting spoilers. Those kids, especially Tania, went through hell and back, and this was only between the ages of 9-13! I cringed through a lot of the book because Jess C. Scott did an excellent job of showing rather than telling. She painted a vivid picture in my head, and I really felt for Trevor and Tania.

I really loved the twists and turns throughout the story. Their mother was a piece of work. I cheered when she died. Was their dad a saint? Did he look out for their best interests? Or was he an evil monster? You’ll have to read to find out.

It was a nice build up to the twin’s first kill. I had chills down my spine through most of the book. And that cliffhanger! Talk about mind-blowing!

Normally, I’m not into series, preferring standalone novels, but I have to check out the next book to see what happens with Tania and Trevor’s journey as teenagers.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

For more information on the author or book:

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

