Weekend Writing Warriors Excerpt #1

This week I just joined the Weekend Writing Warriors. By 9 AM on Sundays, an 8 sentence excerpt of your manuscripts or drafts is shared around the web. It can be from published or unpublished works. It’s a cool concept that I couldn’t pass up. If you’re interested in checking out the other writers who participated for the week, please go to  WeWriWa’s Website on JUNE 22ND.

For my debut, I picked a section from my women’s fiction novella, Something’s Amiss. Poe and Oliver have just tucked in Raven, his younger cousin. Here’s the excerpt:

The kitchen was quiet, heightening her anxiousness. “It’s good seeing everyone again, especially your mom.” Good. Keep the focus on his family, not him.

He smirked, mischief in his expression. “Everyone? Even me?”

Oh no, he was opening a whole can of worms.

*************************

21795800.jpg2Oliver never thought he’d see his ex, Poe, step foot in Rhode Island again. But, she returns a year later to pay her respects for the loss of Jenna, Oliver’s cousin. Deciding life’s too short, he plans to fight for what he wants. Can he convince Poe to give him a second chance? Or will old resentments resurface?

Poe’s life is going well in Pittsburgh. Her comic book is in production, and she has a great social life. Her world is shattered when she finds out her best friend, Jenna, passed away. She goes to Rhode Island, planning to attend the funeral. She gets an unexpected surprise when she’s able to bond with Jenna’s younger daughter, Raven. And, for a long time, she thought her ex hated her. Poe soon realizes, maybe she was wrong.

Amazon          —Goodreads          —My Book Page

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

 

17 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors Excerpt #1

  1. Welcome to the club! 🙂 This is a great first 8. I will suggest though, that you can use some creative punctuation (ie dashes, colons, etc.) to combine sentences, so you can fit as much as possible. Look forward to seeing more!

  2. I liked the scene, felt very real to me, the empty kitchen, her trying to nervously fill the silence with chatter…very well done snippet. Welcome to the Weekend Writing Warriors by the way!

    • Hey Veronica,

      Thank you! I was nervous on what snippet (I love that word 🙂 ) to use, so I’m happy people have liked it.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  3. Nice to meet you and welcome to WeWriWa. 🙂 Always intriguing when old lovers get together again. Looking forward to the next instalment!

    • Hey Debbie,

      Thank you. It’s nice to meet you too. In my stories, characters are always finding their way back to each other. That relationship dynamic fascinates me.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  4. Welcome to WeWriWa – I’ve been here since last Sept and love the comments and stuff.
    Nice snippet, really piques the curiosity. I loved “mischief in his expression” and her reaction.

    • Hey Chelle Cordero,

      Thank you. I’m looking forward to staying in the club. This was fun! I’m happy you enjoyed my snippet.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  5. I see what she’s trying to do there, but the “especially your mom” line is just asking for trouble. Telling someone you really enjoy everyone else’s company over theirs is poking the bear.

  6. Pingback: Weekend Writing Warriors Excerpt #2 | yawattahosby

Leave a Reply

