Book Review: Deep In the Meadows By Lisa M. Cronkhite

Bianca “Bee” Thompson’s brother, Jimmy has been dead for ten months, yet she still feels his presence lingering. And one question haunts her: Was Jimmy’s death an accident?

Probing into the events on the night of Jimmy’s death, Bee hears strange voices. The voices lead her to a blood-splattered room, a terrifying threat, and a deadly trap. Is Bee on the trail of her brother’s murderer, or is she entangled in a totally different and much more diabolical plot?

20972854I loved this book. The opening scene really caught my attention. There was some foreshadowing that something was wrong with Jimmy. If only he had a chance to speak with Bee…The story was written in Bee’s first point-of-view. I liked getting inside of her head because she had suspicions about her brother’s death. Readers were part of finding out the mystery alongside Bee. The author did a great job with red herrings–I was really shocked with the ending!

My favorite line was: “I know he’s gone, but my mind plays tricks on me.” Or did it? Bee’s brother, Jimmy, haunted her. I felt really bad for the family as a whole. The dad was trying to stay in denial while the mom was really hurting. She was depressed and needed help. It was sad that Bee couldn’t go to anyone for support; those family scenes were full of drama and emotion. She tried her best friend, Ryan, but he was preoccupied with his new girlfriend. Bee finally broke down and discussed things with her guidance counselor.

Lisa M. Cronkhite has a brilliant talent with characterization. The people in her story were three-dimensional. Even though the story was written in first-person, I felt like I really got to know all the characters. The bullies–I really hated. The good guys–I really liked. Some people even  surprised me. I had rooted for Bee and Ryan to start a relationship. But could she find someone better? Are the good guys really decent human beings? Or is something dark lurking inside of them? You’ll have to read to find out.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

