How Do You Find New Books?

I love Amazon! Since I gave a gift card to someone, the site turned around and gifted me $10. Woo hoo! I love free stuff. So what did I do? I bought a lot of books 🙂 Since they were free, I took a chance on authors I haven’t read yet.

11011877157229941614963419392283209355812186332721945683As you can tell, I experimented with different genres as well. I’m excited to get a taste of these authors’ writing styles to see if I’ll become a fan. Some people I know from Absolute Write, others were recommended by my friends on Goodreads, and some piqued my interest on Amazon from the ‘customers also viewed’ tab.

For all the readers out there, how do you find new books? Would you take a chance on a new author?

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

 

11 thoughts on “How Do You Find New Books?

  1. I read a lot of new authors because I read quite a few Indie books by my blogging buds. Unfortunately, there are far too many for me to keep up with! But I keep trying to make my way through my list. 🙂

    • Hey Carrie,

      I tend to find a lot of new books browsing my blogging buddies sites and writing forums too. It’s cool to be supportive; I’m sure they’ll appreciate you buying their book even if they have to wait 🙂

      What’s your favorite genre? Mine is thriller/horror

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      • Hey Carrie,

        I hear ya about branching out. Being a book reviewer helped with that, but when I look for my friends’ books, it’s always stayed in the genres I prefer.

        I love thrillers too. Sometimes after reading, I really psyche myself out, scared of my own shadow LOL.

        Keep smiling,
        Yawatta

    • Hey Jordanna,

      I get recommendations through my email from those sites. Maybe it’s because it’s every day, but I usually don’t open them. I should; I’m probably missing good deals LOL. I love browsing “people who bought” recommendations and I always open emails from Amazon, regarding deals.

      But my favorite way to search is through Goodreads. I like browsing the giveaways and my writing buddies’ books.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      • Hey Jordanna,

        Yikes! I never even thought of dealing with trolls. Do you mean fakers posting books they never attend to send? Or fakers entering the giveaway, never attending to write a review?

        I’ll definitely start looking out for suspicious things like that. Thanks for the heads up 🙂

        By the way, I’m looking forward to reading your novel. I bought it last month. I need a better system of finding time to read people I know instead of being tied down to only book review requests.

        Keep smiling,
        Yawatta

      • Wow, I never thought of people posting books they didn’t intend to send! Haha. I meant people who are addicted to free stuff they don’t even want, just for sake of winning. Then there are the people who rate and/or review books they’ve never read, giving them poor remarks for fun. Ugh. Just beware.

        Thanks for buying my novel, though! I hope you enjoy it and I can’t wait to hear what you think!

      • Hey Jordanna,

        I’ll definitely watch out. LOL I always think the worst. Don’t mind me. I guess it’s a good thing there’s no fake book senders LOL.

        I’ll post a review when I’m finished 🙂

        Keep smiling,
        Yawatta

Leave a Reply

