Book Review: The Manuscript By Micah Ackerman

A disgruntled writer tired of rejection after rejection of his manuscript takes a literary agent hostage in her hotel room. He forces her to read his book, which may describe her own fate in terrifying detail. Is he a vicious, sadistic killer? Or simply a writer with a vivid imagination pushed too far? This dark psychological horror story is reminiscent of early Stephen King or Clive Barker.

51qczeUTznL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_I loved this book. Cassie, a literary agent, met a creepy writer, Morgan, in the elevator after a writer’s conference. Later, he kidnapped her in the suite room.

My favorite lines: 1) “Can I tell you a little about my book?” It was the dreaded words that Cassie had been praying wouldn’t slip from the stranger’s lips. 2) “I may have lost my freedom, but not my dignity.” 3) “It’s not horror. It’s instructional. Just keep reading.”

As a reader, I really respected Cassie. She could have given up when that lunatic broke into her room, but she was a fighter. She was a strong female in survivor mode. The author had a brilliant talent of slowly building up the suspense. I had chills down my spine from the psychological element. Crazy people exist in real life. What happened to Cassie could happen in real life. The author did great of keeping the terror going, just from conversation alone.

Eventually, the readers notice that Luke from the manuscript could possibly be Morgan. Luke was physically abused by his mom and was bit by a dog. Right away, I figured there was a twist to that. The more Cassie had to read the manuscript out loud, the more I knew Morgan was unhinged.

Bates Motel is one of my favorite TV shows, so I loved the shout-out. It added to the creepy factor.

This is one of the first books I’ve read by Micah Ackerman, and I’m definitely a fan.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

For more information on the author or book:

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

