Book Review: Hanging By A Hair By Nancy J. Cohen

***I received this as an ARC gift for winning a Goodreads giveaway, making this book a first-read***

Marla’s joyous move to a new house with her husband, Detective Dalton Vail, is marred by their next-door neighbor who erects an illegal fence between their properties. When Dalton reminds the man of the local permitting laws, tempers flare—and worse, the neighbor is found dead the following day. Dismayed when Dalton is removed from the case due to a conflict of interest, Marla decides it’s up to her to find the killer. Can the intrepid hairstylist untangle the clues and pin down the culprit before he strikes again?

18351891I enjoyed this book. My favorite lines were: “That man has secrets to hide. Better not push him. You don’t know what he’ll do.” and “It’s a potential homicide, and I’m a person of interest.” The mystery had plenty of red herrings, keeping me guessing until the end. I didn’t pick the right killer LOL. Marla’s catchphrase was funny; I’ve never heard “Bless my bones” before. I liked that she was comfortable in her own skin.

Krabber. Krabber. Krabber. He was the Association’s President who enforced rules while not abiding by the rules himself. After hearing his backstory, I could understand why he was such a jerk. To be honest, I found the suspects more interesting than Marla and Dalton. The daughter was cool though. I liked that the married couple worked together, trying to solve the crimes in the neighborhood. I was impressed with Marla’s sleuthing skills (she could put Sherlock Holmes to shame). But towards the end, I was confused why Dalton hid crucial information when his police squad found a lead. It could have saved a lot of heartache. I sat on the edge of my seat when Marla got hit in the back of the head and almost died by being left in the garage with a car running. But, Marla still did the same ole same ole even when her husband warned her against connecting the dots, meeting people alone. So as a reader, I assumed I guess it wasn’t a big deal.

I was really curious of Krabber’s nephew. I wish he would’ve been introduced more. Overall, it was a really good story. I read the paperback in a day.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

