Book Review: Grandma? By J.A. Konrath and Talon Konrath

Randall just wanted to have a fun summer vacation with his family, visiting Grandma at her cabin on a lake in the Wisconsin Northwoods.

Then everything went horribly wrong.

Join fifteen-year-old Randall and his younger brother Josh as they go on the run and fight for their lives on the eve of an elderly undead apocalypse.

GRANDMA? Part 1 by J.A. Konrath and Talon Konrath
She won’t bake you cookies…

18482916I enjoyed this fast-paced book. It was very funny–the back and forth between brothers Randall and Josh. The story was written in Randall’s first person point of view. I laughed all the way to the end because the dialogue was silly (in a good way. I could tell this book was meant as a comedy). Talon Konrath was great with characterization, the story never strayed from a scared little boy. It felt like a screenplay because there were a lot of 1 to 2 sentence paragraphs, usually emphasizing body language or dialogue. I could see it as a R.L. Stine production, which is funny because my mother bought this book, thinking it was a poster for a movie. She hates to read, but when she heard the word ‘zombie’, she had to give the book a shot.

My favorite lines: 1) I thought about the garden. What I saw. And I realized something that made my hands shake. Josh and I weren’t safe. 2) Be Nike. Just do it. 3) The silence mocked me. 4) Einstein sometimes wondered why he married her. Oh yeah. The big boobies.

I really found Randall, Josh, and the Grandma’s interactions entertaining. Josh was naive, thinking she wouldn’t hurt them, but Randall knew better. That’s why I couldn’t really get into the ending–Ralph and Einstein’s section of the book confused me. But overall, I enjoyed the book.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Grandma? By J.A. Konrath and Talon Konrath

Leave a Reply

