Book Review: The Devil’s Third By Rebekkah Ford

***I received a free copy in exchange for a book review***

The Exciting Continuation Of The Beyond the Eyes Trilogy.

If you could have the power to control evil, would you want it?

In a rainy, misty town filled with moss-covered trees and dwarfed by wooded mountains, Astoria, Oregon, holds many secrets and eighteen-year-old Paige Reed is one of them. She’s immortal, has magical abilities she’s discovering, and harbors King Solomon’s power inside her. With his incantations, she can control the dark spirits who lurk among societies in soulless humans.

But her problems are mounting.

Her best friend slips into a coma, and Paige must tap into her newfound powers—powers she’s unsure of—to save her.

Through this ordeal, Bael who once commanded a legion of black souls, forces Paige to make a pact with him, causing her to abandon the ones she loves. When she finds out where Solomon’s spells are and tells Bael, she begins to have second thoughts about her agreement with him.

Will she risk everything to claim the spells that hold the power to control the dark spirits so she can enslave him? Or will her one true love find her before she makes a horrible mistake that could damage her for life?

And most importantly, what does the Devil’s third mean and what is Bael really up to?

19104441


I loved this book. It followed Carrie, Nathan, Tree, Paige, and Brayden’s adventure in keeping Paige safe. A secret discovered–she was a skeleton key. The villains wanted to kidnap her for their own agenda, making their way to Africa inside the cavern where the incantations were. The story was written through Paige and Nathan’s first person point-of-view accounts. My favorite style to read.

My favorite lines: 1) “And when I wasn’t watching her…I thought about her. Feeling like a roguish, filthy stalker, I began questioning my sanity.” 2) Carrie rolled her eyes. “You’re such a dork.” 3) “Why me? I don’t want this.” 4) “Of course you don’t know, but you know what? Brayden does.”

Besides action, this book also had drama and romance. I liked Anwar, so I was sad with his ending. I wished him and Nathan could have buried the hatchet. Plus, seeing what Paige’s family went through was also a tear jerker. I’m always a fan of the underdog in a love triangle. Since the first book, I’ve been rooting for Paige and Brayden. I guess he’s just one of those characters that can’t do anything wrong in my book. Don’t get me wrong, I liked Nathan too. He’s the mature one of the group. In this book, I liked that Nathan was less controlling and possessive of Paige. He trusted her judgment more.

The story really picked up when Carrie was in a car accident. She was in a coma. I really felt for Tree and Paige; they were so worried for her. Paige did a spell to enter Carrie’s dreams. Inside her dreams were my favorite scenes. I liked the darkness surrounding the clue that Paige received.

I loved the cliffhanger–how The Devil’s Third tied into Carrie, Paige, and Tree’s friendship.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

For more information on the book or author:

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Devil’s Third By Rebekkah Ford

Leave a Reply

