Blog Tour–My Writing Process!

I would like to thank the lovely Paige Addams for nominating me. She writes paranormal romance. I’m really excited for her because she’s working on publishing her first book, Tales of Ejoma: Book One! You better believe I’ll be one of the first to buy it 🙂

1.  What am I working on?

Since my mind is always all over the place, I’m constantly working on multiple projects at the same time.

Right now, I received feedback from all my beta-readers on my suspense novella about an obsessed man willing to do anything to get the family he deserves. It was going to be called Trapped: A Novella since it’s based off my short story, but someone pointed out that the title may not fit the story. I’m all for the challenge of coming up with a new title. I’m revising the story, then I’ll find an editor, so this can be my third book published.

Starting tomorrow (April 3rd), my writing buddy and I will be critiquing each other’s novel. My story is still untitled, but it’s about three celebrities caught up in a cheating scandal. It’s women fiction–the main character goes to great lengths to rebuild her career and gain the acceptance of her fans again.

I’m also working on two new short stories that I plan to submit to magazines. I want to start getting into that mindset again. I’ll always remember how wonderful it was to see my short, Room For Two, published in an online literary magazine! So surreal!

2.  How does my work differ from others of it’s genre?

As you’ve probably noticed, I write in different genres. I believe my work differs from other authors because I spend the time to really get inside my characters’ heads. I like to focus on their interior monologue a lot, so the readers get a chance to feel how the characters feel. I want readers to experience the journey instead of it feeling like they are just reading about people in a story.

Plus, I like to keep my books short. Nothing has really passed over 60,000 words. I love reading books that are fast paced and gets to the point fast. I can’t really get into books that are too long, focusing on a lot of back story and info dumps. My mind wanders too much. I hope my books satisfies readers like me–the ones who enjoy the story moving at a fast pace.

3.  Why do I write what I do?

I love creating characters and revealing personal relationships between the people in my stories. I love creating scenarios where mind games are being used. I love creating mystery and puzzles for readers to solve. I would go crazy if I wasn’t a writer. I really would. My imagination runs too wild for me not to be able to jot it down on paper.

4.  How does my writing process work?

First, I come up with the story idea, mostly involving plot. Then I create character sketches of people who can make that certain scenario happen. I always write plot outlines, but by the end of the first draft everything drastically changes. The ending always remain the same; it’s just getting from point A to Z changes.

Once I’m confident that I know all my characters (the main and supporting ones), I carry a notebook with me wherever I go and write my rough draft in it. This way when a scene pops into my head, I don’t have to wait until I get home, essentially forgetting some elements.

After everything is written in my notebook (and I mean all the way to ‘The End’), I type my words into a document. If I notice anything wrong, I edit as I go. The main goal for me is to get it on my computer, so I can save it. Then, I print it all off to make my major revisions. I can not edit/revise on the computer. It becomes a daunting task because it’s just one long continuous screen. It feels like the story never ends! On paper, I can see for myself that I’m making good progress.

Once I edit, creating my second draft, I let my writing buddy look over it. After I listen to her feedback, I create my third draft. From there, I ask for beta-readers, at least three or four. After I listen to their feedback (I don’t make any changes until I get my last beta’s opinion), my fourth draft is completed. I hire an editor. While she/he works on that manuscript, I’m usally working on another story idea. Once I hear from my editor, I make the appropriate changes, then publish!

Next Monday (April 7th) please check out Alexandrina Brant and Rebekkah Ford’s post of sharing how their writing process works.

  • Alexandrina Brant @ Miss Alexandrina Born in 1995, Alexandrina Brant grew up around the city of Oxford, and, as such, has a special place for Oxford-based stories in her heart. A converted Catholic, and semi-fluent in a dead language, she is working on her first novel, an alternate-world romance disrupted by time-travel. She studies a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology and Philosophy, with particular interests in perception and emotion, at the University of Reading, England. In her non-existent spare time, she is a Beater and Chaser for the Reading Rocs Quidditch team. Her reading and writing interests vary from classic mysteries to exotic sci-fis.
  • Rebekkah Ford @ Wandering Thoughts of A Writer Rebekkah Ford is an author of a YA paranormal trilogy called Beyond the Eyes. She grew up in a family who dealt with the paranormal. Her parents were the directors of the UFO Investigator’s League in Fairfield, Ohio, back in the 1970’s. They also investigated ghost hauntings and Bigfoot sightings in addition to UFO’s. Growing up in this type of environment and having the passion for writing is what drove Rebekkah at an early age to write stories dealing with the paranormal. She’s fascinated with the paranormal world and love talking and writing about it.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

One thought on “Blog Tour–My Writing Process!

  1. Pingback: Writing Process Blog Hop | Miss Alexandrina

Leave a Reply

