If You Could Travel Anywhere In the U.S., Where Would You Go?

If you’re a writer or any other type of artist, you’re probably a dreamer. Right? I know I am. Daydreaming is my escape when I’m bored. One of the things I always ask myself is: “Where can I see myself living if it’s not in West Virginia?”

One day last year I googled the best places for writers to live or make a substantial earning. After much research, my first pick ended up being Asheville, North Carolina. I told myself when I turn 32, I should consider leaving West Virginia if nothing’s holding me back. In a few months (July), I’ll be the big 3-2! Yikes!!! I’m getting old LOL.

Up north has always fascinated me. I would love to say I’ve been to Maine, Vermont, Connecticut, and Massachusetts (hello I have to try a Wahlburger) at least once in my lifetime. And, I’m obsessed with Rhode Island, Maryland, and Delaware–the smallest states. There’s something fascinating about living in a seaport town, yet I don’t even like water!

New York City will always be my favorite place in the whole wide world. I know I can visit there anytime I want; I’ve already visited the place 5 times.

For some reason the south, midwest, and west has never really caught my attention. But, I would consider Portland, Oregon because my aunt lives over there.

The only reason I’m thinking of places I’d like to travel to–Amtrak is offering a writing residency! I can picture myself in my sleeping car, staring out the window and typing away at my desk. I believe the chosen writers can stay aboard between 2 to 5 days. This is a very cool opportunity.  Your job probably wouldn’t like you away from work, but everyone deserves a vacation.

I would love to be able to write full time. If I got accepted into the program, then it would give me a taste of freedom and adventure. I’m definitely signing up. Writers have to fill out a form and download a sample of their work. The program runs through next year, and I want to say Amtrak will pick about 24 lucky writers.

For more information, click here: Amtrak Residency

Good luck to anyone who signs up!!! If I get accepted, I’d totally travel to Maine or Vermont 🙂 Somewhere I knew that it wouldn’t take longer than 5 days (I’m not trying to get kicked off the train or pay extra LOL).

For all the writers out there, do you think this is a great opportunity or a waste of time? Where would you travel to?

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

2 thoughts on “If You Could Travel Anywhere In the U.S., Where Would You Go?

Leave a Reply

