Book Review: Chill Run By Russell Brooks

***I received a free copy in exchange for a book review***

You know a publicity stunt has backfired when someone dies. Starving author Eddie Barrow, Jr, will do anything to get a book deal with a NYC publisher. Even if it means getting caught by the media while engaging in S&M with a female celebrity as a publicity stunt. What Eddie gets instead are details of a billion dollar fraud scheme from a suicidal client who’s fatally shot minutes later. Now on the run from the law and the killers, Eddie seeks help from two unlikely friends-an alcoholic and a dominatrix. With few resources, Eddie races to clear his name, unveil the fraud scheme, and expose the killers before he becomes their next victim.

13144836I loved this 26 chapter book. My favorite lines: 1) “That’s what makes me better than you, because I can steer my own path, not have someone else do it for me.” 2) “You’re on Canada’s most wanted list, along with me…why wouldn’t she be moody?”

As a writer myself, I could relate to Eddie. I felt bad that his family (besides his aunt) didn’t support his writing. I enjoyed the inside jokes of what some self-publishers go through–like only selling 40 ebook copies, getting rejection after rejection. It really hit home. I admired Eddie and Corey’s friendship. Corey was a musician who sucked during a Canadian Idol audition. Eddie always stuck up for him while Corey always defended Eddie’s writing dream. I thought that was sweet. Corey’s girlfriend, Jordyn, was very supportive too.

The author had a great talent with dialogue. The accents sounded authentic. The arguments and heart-to-hearts were very engaging. In a way, I could see this story as a screenplay while I was reading because the characters’ speeches flowed so nicely and I got lost in the moment.

I really enjoyed the pop culture references as well. My favorite scenes: 1) when Eddie gave up and wanted to freeze to death at the lake 2) in the car, Eddie, Corey, and Jordyn let all their aggression out because the stress got to them

This novel had a good balance of drama, suspense, comedy, and action. It even had a cool twist of who the other killer was.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

For more information on the author or book:

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Chill Run By Russell Brooks

Leave a Reply

