Book Review: Death Bytes By J.S. Frankel

***I received a free copy in exchange for a book review***

Where there is death, there is also life, only in a different form. High school student Sam Benson had to die in order to experience it, and once he did, he found it the most thrilling ride of his life!

Death Bytes, a Young Adult Fantasy of the highest order.

51m9a8BlRiL._AA200_I loved this 13 chapter book. It was told through Sam’s first person point-of-view. The author was great with voice; it sounded authentic like the way a 17 year old guy, who’s losing it all, would think and act. I loved his sense of humor–sarcasm.

I immediately felt sorry for Sam. He and his girlfriend broke up because she wanted to live her social life instead of take care of her dying boyfriend.  He had a fatal illness with no cure or surgery to offer comfort. Plus, Sam’s poor mom. I couldn’t even imagine knowing my child would leave Earth before me.

Luckily, they found a doctor who dabbled in experimental science–the consciousness of a human’s mind would be transferred to a computer program chip instead of a disabled body.

My favorite lines: 1) How would one go to the bathroom here? I mean, what would come out, bytes? 2) Disease didn’t care who it got and death cared even less. 3) So far, I’d died and gone to cyberspace, dodged a cyclops, fought a duel, and decked a king. Real or not, it beat watching television.

Once Sam entered the cyberspace world, the pages were action-packed with adventure. Twists kept me entertained as well as trying to solve the mystery of: Who was responsible for the tragedy at the lab? And, why did Boris and Merlin want Sam dead so badly within cyberspace?

The author painted a vivid picture with cool dialogue, overall setting details, characterization, voice, plot, and description. I could definitely see this as a Blockbuster hit.

My favorite moments were when Boris and Merlin were chasing Sam. I liked that he was proactive in helping himself instead of waiting for help. I also enjoyed that he researched for answers–reminded me of Sherlock Holmes or something. My other favorite moments were when he met a mysterious 17 year old girl in cyberspace. She had a sad past as well, so as a reader, I appreciated that they bonded over that.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

