Book Review: The Doll By J.C. Martin

The Island of the Dolls is a strange and eerie tourist destination in Mexico, where hundreds of decomposing dolls hang from trees like grisly Christmas ornaments. On a trip to the island, Joyce Parker’s daughter falls in love with a beautiful but sinister doll. Soon after, she starts developing strange mannerisms that concerns Joyce. Her research into the doll’s past reveals a dark history, and the curse of a lonely child spirit.

12792689I loved this short story. It was spooky and creepy (in a good way). I definitely kept looking over my shoulders while reading it, happy I don’t have any dolls in my room LOL. The opening sentence: “The disembodied head dangled from the overhanging branch, staring at Joyce Parker with one glass eye.” had me hooked right away.

The mom, Joyce, and her daughter, Taylor, went on a trip to visit The Island of the Dolls. Pablo was their tour guide. The urban legend was that a young girl named Salvadora drowned. Now, she’s a ghost; the villagers had collected all those dolls so she’d have toys to play with. If you touched one, you would die.

I was sitting at the edge of my seat whenever Taylor was near a doll. As a young six year old, she was full of curiosity, and I was beyond nervous that Joyce couldn’t always keep her eyes on her daughter.

My favorite lines: 1) “Get a grip, Joyce. They’re just dolls…” 2) “What kind of sick psycho would build a shrine for a dead girl?” 3) “For someone who turns her nose up at creativity, you have quite the imagination.”

The author had a brilliant talent with setting. I could picture every detail like it was a movie. A Chiller movie. If any part of the culture was true, then readers get a cool insight into black magic and how it works. Once Taylor and Joyce return home, craziness happened. When Joyce discovered that her child had imaginary friends, I screamed. Good thing I was home alone.

The twist at the end was excellent.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

For more information on the book or author:

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Doll By J.C. Martin

Leave a Reply

