Book Review: Dead By Teddy Lotson

As everyone probably knows, I have a reading challenge–I find books from authors I find through blogging and Absolute Write Forums. Sometimes I know them, sometimes I don’t. Around a month or two ago, I actively searched for nothing but thrillers and horror. I found Dead in the announcements section of AW and knew I had to give it a chance. I love psychological thrillers. This book is #26 of my reading challenge. Here’s my thoughts:

A brain aneurysm sends Jay into a coma as he begins to write the final paragraph of his dream novel. Now, he witnesses the lives of those around him as they struggle with his sudden illness, and – in one case – seek to profit from it.

He’ll learn the value of personal relationships in the social media age…but will it be too late?

Short, action packed, and dense with allusion and metaphor, you can read Dead in one night, but it will stick with you long after you finish the final word.

51a9+WRVq+L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-52,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_I loved this 47 chapter book. Poor poor Jay. He’s a writer working on a story. His roommate, Eric, is one too. Not only does Jay have to face the fact that he’s in a coma, but he also sees a huge betrayal. Uli and Lucia are the only friends who visit Jay in the hospital.

My favorite lines: 1) The dull light from the computer screen spread out over my bed like a prison searchlight. Then I noticed the body slumped on the desk in front of my computer. 2) He was a forgotten player on a forgotten team in a forgotten game in a forgotten season.

I was a fan of Teddy Lotson’s writing style; I enjoyed the short, straight to the point sentences. It had a nice fast rhythm that left me wanting to read more–especially to see how the events would work themselves out in the end. Eric’s definitely a creeper. I shuddered (in a good way) how dismissive he was to his hook-up because he needed to finish typing his book.

My favorite characters would have to be Uli and Jay. I felt sorry for Jay, especially when he started to figure out how naive he had been. Plus, it was sort of bittersweet if he’d ever wake up again. I really liked Uli because he didn’t just accept things blindly–he went looking for answers himself. Lucia was cool too; she saw right through Eric’s shadiness. Eric was definitely an entertaining bad guy.

This story was a very fast read, and the ending in the hospital room gave me chills.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

