Myths of Being a Published Writer: Part 2

Ruth Ann Nordin has a great blog post about the myths of self-publishing. My favorite is her quote: “Being serious about writing means you care about the quality of your books.”

Self-Published Authors Helping Other Authors

Myth: If I publish enough books, I’ll be able to make a living as a writer.

Fact: I wish I could say this is true, but there is no guarantee you’ll make a living as a writer, no matter how many books you publish.

And I have no idea why some authors sell more than others or why some books appeal to a wider audience than others.  Look at all the vampire books out there.  There are so many of them, I can’t even begin to count them all.  But it’s only a few we actually know about as a society.  Twilight might have made it big, but that doesn’t mean all vampire books will make it big.  I met a NY Times Bestselling author who was featured on JA Konrath’s blog who made big sales with one of her books.  But her others didn’t sell even a fraction of what…

View original post 1,033 more words

Leave a Reply

