Book Review: The History Maker By Eamonn Hickson

For the past few months, I’ve been lurking on the Absolute Write Forums. Lately, I’ve been interacting more with other members. I’ve been following this author’s publishing journey, so I decided to take a chance on his book when he announced it was available. He always seems very supportive of other authors, which is pretty cool. The History Maker is #24 of my reading challenge. Here’s my thoughts:

Memories are our greatest link to the past, they are what we create in the present, and they can guide us in the future. Memories can define us. Adam Fletcher has none. A crippling car accident has pressed reset on Adam’s life, leaving the young man broken and lost. Britney, the woman who claims to be his best friend, tries to bring him back to society, while hiding the truth about her involvement in the crash and protecting the driver, Shaun McCoy. Starting from scratch, Adam tries to make new memories. But, what use are memories if they are constructed from lies?

51sDt3CRDuL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_I liked this 53 chapter book. I’m a big fan of dramas, especially with a lot of tension and conflict. Madison lost his wife,; Adam has amnesia after being in a car accident. I felt sorry for him because I couldn’t even imagine being in that situation. My favorite lines: 1) “I don’t mean to be disrespectful, but I can see no end to this.” 2) “It is tough to live with a secret Adam…I didn’t want the responsibility anymore.” 3) “It’s ironic,” Adam spoke. “Only days after I lose my identity, someone else finds it and uses it, and now they are returning it, broken.”

I enjoyed Britney and Adam’s friendship. It seemed like they had developed deeper feelings for one another, even though they were too afraid to say anything. It was cute the way Adam pondered if they had a relationship before he lost his memory. It was cool that readers got to see that Britney was hiding a secret, but Adam had no clue.

At first, I was confused by the Madison scenes; I thought he was up to something shady. But there was a cool twist at the end that revealed his true intentions. My favorite plot points involved Adam and him trying to regain memory of his past life, especially thinking about Britney.

My favorite scenes: 1) when Adam and Shaun meet face to face for the first time since the accident 2) when Britney talks to Adam in the parked car and all the scenes after that (I loved the angst between the characters, and the inner-struggles of forgiving or holding on to hurt feelings) 3) finding out exactly what happened after the car accident 4) Shaun’s girlfriend seeking forgiveness and the aftermath

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

