Day 10 (Motivated)

MAY 11TH – 1,225 WORDS

Good ole Saturday. I love the weekends because it allows me to sleep in and it’s easier to catch up on responsibilities. I received the first set of chapters to beta-read. I love beta-reading (looking over a manuscript before the author submits to an editor, agent, or publisher). It’s pretty cool; it feels like I’m in on a secret. I love spoilers, so I enjoy knowing a story before the public gets to see it. And I like helping others out.

While looking over the author’s chapters, I was motivated to work on my own projects. I’m nervous, yet excited, to get my name out there. To find readers. To build relationships with other authors. It’s so close that I can taste it. Since I write in different genres, I need to consider that most readers won’t cross genres just to follow an author. That’s why I wanted to write suspense for NaNo. I’m going to publish One By One really soon; it’s a mystery thriller. I’m working on Something’s Amiss (women’s fiction). Next, I hope to release my NaNo story, then my other women’s fiction novel (from the 90 day challenge). If I keep rotating, then hopefully that’ll be okay.

I’m thinking like a businesswoman, and it feels good 🙂

I’m still on Chapter 4–Miki and Finia’s 1st therapy session. I have a feeling that this scene will be really long. It was fun to write all the tension and interactions with the therapist. She’s trying to calm Miki down because he keeps speaking out of turn, making Finia uncomfortable. It’s to the point he’s being so disrespectful that she’s heading out the front door. The therapist–don’t want to say the name in case I change it–rushes to bring her back.

I left off with an interesting section, so tomorrow I should stay motivated.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

