Day 9 (Multi-tasking)

MAY 10TH – 1,193 WORDS

Today I was a busy bee. If I keep up the momentum of only focusing on Trapped: A Novella, then it’ll start to feel like a chore. Then I’ll lose interest. So I decided to work on other projects to keep my motivation going:

  • posted book reviews
  • offered to be a beta-reader for another author (Young Adult Suspense)
  • formatted Something’s Amiss into a new document
  • received a rejection for my short story December 4th, so found another market, formatting it to their guidelines before sending it off
  • read another story for a book review

I managed to do all that once I got home. You would think that I would’ve been over trying to write for NaNo, but it was the total opposite. I got straight to work around 11. I wanted to add another task to my list. More than likely, if I didn’t stay busy when I first stepped into my room, then I would’ve stalled, watching TV instead.

The fun has begun for my NaNo novella. I fast forwarded to Miki and Finia’s first therapy session, skipping her giving birth. Now, Jahlin is 5 years old, a year away from starting kindergarten. With the short story, I enjoyed writing in both character’s perspectives. I started with Finia first, so readers could sympathize with Miki wanting his family back. I loved the twist at the end–he’s a narcissistic douche bag. So with the novella, I decided to keep both point-of-views, but instead of readers feeling sorry for Miki, I want them to have a strong reaction to him right away.

I already have the plot in my head, so it’s hard to keep motivated with typing everything. I wish someone was doing NaNo with me. But that’s how the cookie crumbles sometimes. I haven’t quit yet; that’s always a plus. Hopefully, I’ll catch up with word count soon because I want to go back to writing only 1,000 words a day.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

