Book Review: Vanguard of Hope By Kathy Steinemann

***I received a free copy in exchange for a book review***

LISETVILLE, 1890 — Murders are committed; homes are burned; family secrets are buried; an unexpected romance complicates lives. Amid the mystery and violence, a vigilante brigade emerges to administer justice.

Flowing through the intrigue and drama is a dark undercurrent that will touch your heart as you empathize with the victims.

What Readers Are Saying:

“I am hooked. I do hope that I will be able to get all your novels.” – Lorene Charlton

“It’s not chick lit.” – A Male Reader

“This book keeps you in suspense right to the end. The dark underlying theme is tackled in a sensitive manner.” – S.L. Banks

“I started reading this novel to help quiet my mind at a late hour, but found myself still awake in the morning. Its intense read was much more than I expected. It has ‘all’ the elements from love, betrayal, suspense, and romance, to murder. ‘Vanguard of Hope’ will touch everyone who reads it. If you’re a young adult or older, this excellent novel will awaken you deep within your soul.” – Toni Gee

“The book was excellent! I really enjoyed reading it. I could not stop. Every chance I got, I was trying to sneak in just a couple more diary entries! I look forward to reading the next book in the series. And I will most certainly be recommending this to others to read!” – Brandy Mayan-Rooks

17372535I loved this 6 part book. It was narrated as Hope’s diary entries from 1890 to 1912. My favorite lines: 1) Mystery, murder, vigilante justice, romance, treasure. Who knew that my ancestors led lives stranger than fiction? 2) Why should I bring babies into this miserable world of arranged marriages, where women have no rights, and are treated like ornaments or slaves? 3) Another month of my life has passed, and the loneliness increases every day. 4) I finally realized that my husband loved me, just as I was about to abandon him. 5) Physical attractions are common, but mental connections are rare.

I respected Hope because she was a strong female character. She loved her husband but still questioned the world around her, instead of keeping quiet like women were expected to do in the olden days. She was my favorite character. I also loved Solomon, her husband, and her sister. Even though it was written in first person point-of-view, the author did a great job with characterization. Hope’s narration and interaction with the other characters really brought out everyone’s personalities. The different relationship dynamics were cool to see.

  • Solomon was a slave. When slaves were freed, he became Hope and her husband’s worker around the house. She ended up cheating on her husband; maybe I should’ve been appalled, but I wasn’t. I liked Hope’s secret relationship with Solomon; I rooted for them to end up together. I felt bad that they had to go through all that discrimination and threats because of the society’s racism.

The story was more than romance. The author did a fine job with conflict, tension, and suspense. I liked the reveal that Hope and her sister had a dark secret regarding their dad. The brigade helped them out when their dad ends up dead. The mystery: who killed him? I loved all the twists at the end. This story was a fast read.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

For more information on the author or book:

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

