Short Story Submissions Purgatory

Lately, I’ve been lurking in the Absolute Write Forums under “Rejection and Dejection.” I’ve been preparing myself for my first rejection. It’ll sting for a minute or two, but overall it’ll be an accomplishment. I put myself out there. It’ll mean I’m a working writer dedicated to getting published. That’s every writer’s goal, right?

I have five stories that I submitted to magazines/online journals. I’m editing number six, so I can send it out soon. They say the more new stories you produce and send out, the less time you’ll obsess over getting a rejection/acceptance. Yeah right! Not for me. I check my email and Submittable account every day. I guess I’m impatient hee hee.

I wish I had news for you guys. I plan on sharing my rejections as well as my acceptances–that’s the point of this blog: sharing my publishing journey. I started submitting in January, so hopefully I’ll hear from a market soon. I’ll keep you guys updated.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

5 thoughts on “Short Story Submissions Purgatory

    • Hey Darla,
      Thank you for the kind words. I think it’s pretty cool that you share your fiction on your website. There’s many different ways to get your work in front of readers 🙂

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

      P.S. I hate waiting LOL. I can understand why some people bypass going through magazines and just publishing short story collections on Amazon.

    • Hey Darla,
      I had never heard of Efiction Magazine, so I looked it up. I like that it has different genres, guaranteed response if it’s rejection/acceptance, and Duotrope listed them as pretty approachable market to submit to. If my short story “Boy Meets Girl” gets rejected from the place I already submitted to, then I’ll send it over to Efiction.

      Another feature I liked–there’s a writer’s forum where rejected stories can get critique from other members on the site. Feedback is always good 🙂

      Thanks for the suggestion. I saw about 3 other cool markets similar to this one as well.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

