Was In Awe At the Martinsburg Library Today

Lately, I’ve been interested in connecting with other local authors/writers. My writing group hasn’t been shy about asking coffee shops, bookstores, libraries if writing groups meet there. So far no dice, but the owners always end up offering for us to start something there.

Today, I sat at a table, writing (being productive before my work shift started). There were about 4 women and 2 men (late 50’s, early 60’s) who used the table beside mine. They greeted each other and engaged in small talk, so I hardly paid attention. Until…I overheard one of the women boasting about publishing a best seller back in the day. She had wondered if it was still on library shelves or offered as a backlist to order in bookstores.

Then their group meeting started. Apparently, all of them were published (most were fiction writers, one of the men was a nationally acclaimed poet). I was in awe–I hope they didn’t notice me staring and smiling LOL. I was amazed that they still get together to discuss their writing careers and bring stories/poems for each of them to critique.

I wanted to introduce myself–not necessarily to ask for tips nor to let them know I’m a fiction writer. It was more because I wanted to hear more about their back-stories (they had sounded so interesting), especially to get some names. I would love to check out their books. Unfortunately, I chickened out because I didn’t want to disrupt their meeting, and I had to leave within 5 minutes to walk to my office building on time.

It’s so cool to hear about all these authors from the Eastern Panhandle of West Virginia. It lets me know that I’m capable of success if I work hard at it. They really inspired me today. Hopefully, 30 years from now, I can meet up with Melissa, Pam, and Marc where we reminisce about our successes and failures at our writing careers.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

8 thoughts on “Was In Awe At the Martinsburg Library Today

  1. Lol! What a cool post! I wonder what I would have done…besides eavesdrop. Lol. Knowing me, I probably would’ve chickened out too. BUT, I think if you run into them again, you should go for it – ask questions and tell them about yourself. Thanks for sharing

    • Hey Sharon,
      I ended up asking the librarians if there were any adult writing groups who met in the library (knowing full well I already knew the answer LOL), so she told me the name of the contact person.

      I love acting like Harriet Spy to get my answers 🙂

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

