Book Review: Fanged Princess By Elisabeth Wheatley

I will not let my brother suffer the same loss…

Hadassah’s father, the Vampire King, punished her harshly for her choice to love a human. Now her brother, the only person in the world who still matters to her, has fallen for a human girl. Determined to keep the girl safe, the three of them flee from their home in New England and find themselves cornered with their father’s minions closing in. If they want to escape, their only hope may be to join forces with the mortal enemies of their kind…

Be ensnared in this dark tale of enduring love, revenge, and suspense from teenage author, Elisabeth Wheatley.

16095765I liked this 9 chapter book. It was told through Haddie’s first person point-of-view. She had lost the love of her life, Fletcher, because her dad and uncle killed him. Now, her brother, Damian, is in love with Madelyn, so their dad and uncle is on the hunt to end her life as well.

My favorite lines: 1) The Huntsmen have jobs. That’s strange for some reason. 2) I’m going to die. For a moment, that one thought seems to consume all of me so that I can hardly feel the sharp pain in my face.

The author was good with dialogue. I could picture the tone of voices as the characters interacted with one another. I wish it hadn’t been repeated that Haddie lost Fletcher and the motives for running away since that was established at the beginning. It would’ve helped the story flow better. And it would have been cool to have a build-up to the suspense parts; that way I could’ve been worried about the characters’ lives. It was more like telling instead of showing, but nothing distracted me from this book. In fact, I loved Haddie’s sass.

My favorite part was when they swallowed their pride and asked the Huntsmen family, the Falkners, for help. No one trusted each other, but they needed each other. I enjoyed the conflict and struggle, especially the back and forth between Haddie, James, and Chase.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

