An Interview With J.G. Hutchison, Author of Ultimate Objective

Yawatta would like to welcome her special guest J.G. Hutchison, author of Ultimate Objective. Please enjoy his interview.

Book-Cover-Front-192x3001.  Do you have any advice for other authors trying to get published?

Absolutely! Join a critique circle or reading group in your community. Meetup is a good place to search. And insure your manuscript is professionally edited, at least once. Perfection is only marginally tolerable.

2.  Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Jack Reacher and Mitch Rapp have company. Kirk Magnus is the new superhero on the block. He’s helped and hindered by a bevy of gorgeous women who sleep with guns.

3.  What are your thoughts on the fact that both trade and self-published authors have to promote their own work?

I attend book signings by my favorite authors all the time. Promotion goes with the territory. Futhermore, when you self-publish you become a publisher and assume responsibilities otherwise taken care of by traditional publishing houses.

4.  What genre do you write for? Your favorite aspect? Your least favorite aspect?

Thriller. To entertain and scare the hell out of my readers. None.

5.  What are your current/next projects?

HIGH TREASON, the second Kirk Magnus thriller in the series is in the pipeline. Same cast of characters, other than those who were killed off in ULTIMATE OBJECTIVE.

6.  Do you prefer to work alone or with critique partners/beta-readers?

Shakespeare and Hemmingway might have worked alone, but we cannot. A spell-checker is necessary but not sufficient. It is impossible to proofread and critique your own work. Critique circles and professional editing is essential to success.

7.  How do you find time to write?

I get up at 4:30 AM. Some people eat chocolate.

8.  Did you always want to become an author?

Nope. As an engineer, I’ve always written non-fiction. But, fiction happened when my wife was on an extended business trip overseas. When she returned six weeks later I had a 135,000 word manuscript. I thought it was great. She was not impressed. Five years later after ten serious revisions and three professional substantive edits, then pitching agents without snagging a mullet, I self-published. And will not look back. It’s challenging to do it, but it is fun.

9.  Is there any writing ritual you complete before creating your manuscripts/drafts?

I dream in color.

I have a fishing buddy who reads thrillers the way I do–two a week. We compare swap books and notes. He’s offered great ideas to enhance the suspense and increase the stakes in my scenes.

10.  Do you write the beginning/opening first or do you tend to write out of order (with whatever scenes interest you most)?

ULTIMATE OBJECTIVE followed a blueprint in my mind, starting with the first chapter. HIGH TREASON, the sequel, started with a black moment, then blossomed in three dimensions. I envisioned the final scene before I wrote a single word. The title immediately followed.

11.  Have you ever hated something you wrote?

No. No. No. Like sex, it starts at excellent, then works its way up 🙂

Actually, my initial drafts were pretty rough and required more than a modicum of manipulation. I burn through Google doing research, and Thesaurus searching for the correct power verbs, perfect adjectives, etc. As mentioned, I don’t work from an outline, so many scenes fell on the cutting room floor, possibly to be used in a future novel.

12.  Which is the easiest for you–novel, novella, or short story? Why?

Novel. It’s what I love to read.

13.  While you were writing, did you ever feel as if you were one of your characters?

Oh yes! If you’re not living inside your character’s body and soul, you’re faking an orgasm.

14.  How did you come up with the title?

I ginned up a title that describes the plot in two words. Ultimate objective is the goal of both antagonist and protagonist. This came after a dozen other titles that were hackneyed and didn’t pass muster.

15.  What inspired you to write your latest book? What is the book about?

I digest thrillers like a cow eats grass. After plowing through a thousand-page tome by one of the best-selling thriller writers, I thought I could do better. Wrong! It took me five years to hone my craft, but I think I’m there. The inspiration came with a news article regarding the trial of the first World Trade Center terrorists. I was angry and decided to do something about it. In addition to entertainment value, my terror thrillers are designed to be informative. And provocative.

ULTIMATE OBJECTIVE is a story about a jaded and wise-cracking combat veteran who practically witnesses his commander’s assassination. Upon investigation he discovers the perp is a wealthy Arab who is sponsoring terror attacks to drive up the price of oil, but not before the sheikh loads up on crude oil futures contracts. My protagonist is paired up with some very tough women who changes his views on their role–riding the razor’s edge in black leather and garter belts.

16.  Any blogs, websites, social media you’d like to share?

My website is a fun place to visit. In addition to the usual author’s stuff, I’ve torn a page out of Hollywood and created a slideshow trailer–with sound effects. Same for my blog which shows off my toys and hobbies and harem. RedactionAction

I’m also on Facebook and Twitter under Jack Hutchison.

One thought on “An Interview With J.G. Hutchison, Author of Ultimate Objective

  1. I agree that writers shouldn’t work alone. It’s essential to have critique partners and/or beta-readers for objective eyes. Sometimes writers can get too attached to their “babies.”

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    P.S. I’ve never heard of Meetup.com; I’ll have to look into it. I’m always open to meeting other writers in my area.

Leave a Reply

