Book Review: Project NOVA By Frank Campisano IV

After World War II, the United States developed Project NOVA, an international peacekeeping program designed to operate outside the jurisdiction of the newly created United Nations. The Project quickly earned a reputation for accomplishing its goals by any means necessary, and was allegedly shut down following the assassination of President John F. Kennedy.

Forty years later, detective John Lange’s investigation into a rumored revival of Project NOVA leads to a string of startling discoveries about his own family tree. When the Project decides to cut his investigation short, Lange will have to learn that some cases are better left unsolved.

41kQmRx+O+L._AA160_I loved this 12 chapter book.  Frank Campisano IV should be proud of his debut novel. It was told through John’s first person point-of-view. My favorite lines: 1) Every bone in my body was sending up a red flag; I had walked right into a trap. 2) “Like I said, I just hope I don’t live to regret it,” I repeated; famous last words if ever there were any. 3) Every answer led to more damn questions, and I’d be at my wit’s end if things didn’t start making sense. 4) The Project had saved my life and I owed them, but my blind loyalty had its limits.

The book was engaging from beginning to end. I loved how the opening scene contained a lot of suspense–John and his ex-wife Fiona were in his apartment. She came to kill him (can’t get more tension than that). An explosion caused both of them to go into a coma. There’s more than meets the eye though. The Project had its own motive. I enjoyed the relationships within the story–it was cute how Fiona and John rekindled their love, Morty and John’s friendship, the group dynamic, and Harlow crushing on Ivy was sweet.

The author had an amazing talent with plot, especially pacing. He had the right amount of action, suspense, and mystery to keep me, as a reader, motivated to continue reading. There was nothing boring about the book at all. In John’s past life, he was a private investigator; those instincts kicked in regarding the Director. It was cool how the mystery enfolded. I loved the ending, especially when things began getting solved. I also loved the twist of who the Director was.

It was a fast read, and I could see it as a blockbuster hit. I pictured Jude Law as John.

I RECOMMEND this book to read.

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

Leave a Reply

