Have You Ever Lost Friends Over A Story You Wrote?

Have you ever lost friends over a story you wrote? It boggled my mind when I read horror stories from real life experiences where some family and “close” friends of a writer judged them harshly over a plot point or character. That they felt what the writer wrote is what they feel in their heart, so they’re a bad person.

Excuse me? It’s called fiction for a reason. I never once thought ‘hey, I could lose a friend once I show him or her some of my work.’ I tend to create dramas–my latest passion has been dark and twisty, playing with a psychological thriller angle. If anything, I thought maybe the person would hate a story of mine because of my writing style. No biggie. I wouldn’t lose a friendship over that. But never that they would judge me and believe I’m okay with murder, adultery, rape, violence, or whatever I pinpoint in my stories.

If someone does that, let me tell ya, they weren’t “friends” to begin with. When I read the discussion board over this topic, a lot of people recommended for the author to talk things over with her friend. That maybe something happened in her friend’s past; when she saw a similar situation written on paper, it sparked resentment. It’s about her, not the author. Other people said to leave her friend alone. That she doesn’t need people like that in her life. It’s one thing to be mad because you can identify that a writer based a character off of you (making you a villain hee hee) or based a plot off something personal in your life that you never got closure from. You may feel violated. But it’s a whole different story when it was just something created from the author’s imagination that happened to be tragic or evil. Conflict, tension, bad guys give a story depth. Not everyone can write happy things.

What do you guys think?

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

6 thoughts on “Have You Ever Lost Friends Over A Story You Wrote?

  1. Lack of imagination probably accounts for a lot of these problems. If you can’t imagine something that you’ve never experienced, you’re more likely to think other people are limited that way. And some people just have a hard time distinguishing between fact and fiction.

    • Hey Catana,
      That’s pretty sad that some people can’t distinguish between fact and fiction. Keeping my fingers crossed that I don’t come across anyone like that in my hometown.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

  2. Good for you. It’s really better not to get into anything controversial these days because so many people get really nasty. I love controversy, but only if it leads to an intelligent discussion. It’s hard to find anyone who knows the difference between a discussion and an argument.

    • I know what you mean. People only listen if you agree with them. Otherwise, they’ll get pretty defensive, already having their next argument ready instead of hearing what you’re saying. Plus, some people are crazy nowadays. Never know if a disagreement will lead to violence.

      Keep smiling,
      Yawatta

Leave a Reply

