An Interview With Ruth Mancini, Author of Swimming Upstream

I’d like to welcome my special guest Ruth Mancini, author of Swimming Upstream. Please enjoy her insightful interview.

1.  Do you have any advice for other writers trying to get published?

Consider self-publishing! It’s honestly not considered “vanity” publishing anymore. It’s easy to do, it’s generally free or fairly inexpensive and there are loads of indie authors out there who have huge followings.

2.  Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

THANK YOU! I hope you enjoy reading my first novel as much as I enjoyed writing it (though I hope it takes you less time)!

3.  What are your thoughts on the fact that both traditional and self-published authors have to promote their own work?

It’s the way forward these days. Social networking and building up a personal relationship with  your readers is what’s expected. I think it’s good fun and I am making lots of new friends round the world but it takes a lot of time, which for me, as a mum, lawyer and writer, is in short supply.

4.  What genre do you write for? What inspired you to write your latest book? And what’s it about?

I write for women like me, basically, who are anywhere between 17-77! I write for anyone who has loved and lost, who has battled with life, who has ever felt low, tired and alone. I wrote my book Swimming Upstream after a painful relationship break up when issues from my own past came rearing up to haunt me. I wanted to read something similar, to know that someone had been through what I had and survived. I read some self-help books, but couldn’t find a novel that had issues that I could relate to. So I decided to write one. But I also wanted to write a story with lots of drama. I love psychological thrillers so wanted to create a story that had some of that aspect to it too.

5.  Do you prefer to work alone or with critique partners/beta-readers?

I write alone, but have a great editor friend who reads my work and I also use a professional literary consultancy.

6.  How do you find time to write?

It’s hard! I have two kids and one of them is disabled and needs extra help. Plus I also work as a lawyer still.

7.  Did you always want to become an author?

Yes. I wrote my first book when I was 9. I’ve still got it, though I haven’t thought about publishing it!

8.  Have you ever hated something you wrote?

Only my diaries! I once wrote almost a whole book of outpourings about a boyfriend who didn’t love me back. When I found it recently I couldn’t believe I had wasted so much time and energy!

9.  Which is the easiest for you–novel, novella, or short story? Why?

I am not keen on short stories myself so prefer to write what I like–a good long story that you can really get stuck into, get to know the characters and stay with them for a while.

10.  While you were writing, did you ever feel as if you were one of your characters?

Well, I have to say that Lizzie, the central character in Swimming Upstream is a lot like me!

11.  How did you come up with the title?

I was inspired by a quote from a feminist writer, Marilyn French, who described women as being like salmon, always having to swim upstream.

12.  Any blogs, websites, social media you’d like to share?

Yes. I have a website which also has a blog page where I talk about my life and family. There are links to my Twitter and Facebook pages on the site.

Thank you Ruth Mancini for being a guest blogger today!!!

Keep smiling,

Yawatta Hosby

One thought on “An Interview With Ruth Mancini, Author of Swimming Upstream

  1. Hey Ruth,
    That’s cool that you still have your works from when you were a kid! I wish I still had mine. I love psychological dramas too–I’ve yet to ever write a happy story.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

Leave a Reply

